• We did not send an email asking for donations - please read this post.

Problems Installing wine-stable-i386 and wine-stable-amd64

Kindoflame

New Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2020
Messages
4
Reaction score
2
Credits
39
I wanted to install Wine in order to play games on Steam, but I keep running into problems with the dependencies. When I try to install the package winehq-stable, I get an error saying wine-stable is not installed. Then when I try to install wine-stable, it says I need wine-stable-i386 and wine-stable-amd64. When I try to install those I get batch of about 2 dozen errors regarding dependencies not installed. This last batch of errors are particularly weird e.g.
Code:
Depends: libc6 (>= 2.29) but 2.23-0ubuntu11.2 is to be installed
Depends: libfaudio0 (>= 19.06.07) but it is not installable
Recommends: libcapi20-3 but it is not going to be installed

At this point, I am way over my head. I barely understand what these mean and have no idea how I would even try to fix. A full list of the errors I get is in the spoiler below.

Running sudo apt install --install-recommends wine-stable-i386
Code:
Depends: libc6:i386 (>= 2.29) but 2.23-0ubuntu11.2 is to be installed
Depends: libfaudio0:i386 (>= 19.06.07) but it is not installable
Depends: libgphoto2-6:i386 (>= 2.5.10) but 2.5.9-3 is to be installed
Depends: libgphoto2-port12:i386 (>= 2.5.10) but 2.5.9-3 is to be installed
Depends: libvkd3d1:i386 (>= 1.0) but it is not installable
Recommends: libosmesa6:i386 but it is not going to be installed
Recommends: libsdl2-2.0-0:i386 but it is not going to be installed


Running sudo apt install --install-recommends wine-stable-amd64
Code:
Depends: libc6 (>= 2.29) but 2.23-0ubuntu11.2 is to be installed
Depends: libfaudio0 (>= 19.06.07) but it is not installable
Depends: libgcc-s1 (>= 3.0) but it is not installable
Depends: libgphoto2-6 (>= 2.5.10) but 2.5.9-3 is to be installed
Depends: libgphoto2-port12 (>= 2.5.10) but 2.5.9-3 is to be installed
Depends: libvkd3d1 (>= 1.0) but it is not installable
Recommends: libcapi20-3 but it is not going to be installed
Recommends: libodbc1 but it is not going to be installed
Recommends: libosmesa6 but it is not going to be installed
Recommends: libsdl2-2.0-0 but it is not going to be installed
 


Condobloke

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
5,111
Reaction score
4,299
Credits
30,062
G'day Kindoflame, and Welcome to linux.org

Try a fresh approach

Instructions
 

f33dm3bits

Gold Member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
4,944
Reaction score
3,589
Credits
36,026
Why don't you use the Linux Steam client which has support for a lot of native Linux games plus you get the benefit of being able to use proton to run a lot of Windows games from the Steam Linux client.
 
OP
K

Kindoflame

New Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2020
Messages
4
Reaction score
2
Credits
39
f33dm3bits, I did not use the Linux Steam client because the game I wanted to play did not have a Linux version and I did not know about Proton. Fortunately, I was able to activate Proton without too many problems and was able to install the game. Unfortunately, every time I try to run it a solid black window pops up and then closes in a couple of seconds. One user who had the same problem said,
I made the mistake of first running the game from my Windows partition. It seems like proton doesn't like NFTS partitions so make sure that the game isn't installed in one.
I do not know what this means. How can something be outside the partition system your computer uses?
 

f33dm3bits

Gold Member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
4,944
Reaction score
3,589
Credits
36,026
Do you have a NTFS partition anywhere on your system? What I usually do when a game doesn't startup or run correctly is read the game comments from protondb and try settings other people have tried until it works like I want it to run. Trying setting this launch option for the game:
Code:
PROTON_USE_WINED3D=1 %command%
1. Right Click on game -> Properties
2. Click on "Set Launch Options" and paste: PROTON_USE_WINED3D=1 %command%
3. Hit Okay and try again.
 
OP
K

Kindoflame

New Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2020
Messages
4
Reaction score
2
Credits
39
I ran every command from this article that displays partition type and none of them identified a NTFS partition in my system.

I tried your code and got an error message:
There was an error launching the application.
There is one thing I don't think it is worth mentioning, but I wanted to cover all my bases. When I opened the properties, I did not see anything called "Set Launch Options". However, there was a small rectangle to enter text (I forget exactly what those are called) labeled "Command:"
 

f33dm3bits

Gold Member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
4,944
Reaction score
3,589
Credits
36,026
Can you make a screenshot of it? Here's what mine looks like.
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot from 2020-08-14 13-33-56.png
    Screenshot from 2020-08-14 13-33-56.png
    717.8 KB · Views: 307
$100 Digital Ocean Credit
Get a free VM to test out Linux!

Linux.org Hosting Donations
Consider making a donation

Members online

No members online now.

Top