Problem with my audio hardware?

james80

New Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2021
Messages
18
Reaction score
1
Credits
144
Hi,

since many months I have a problem with my audio, not about sound but I think it is about hardware? In the middle of my screen I have that band flashing all the time, I tried fedora, arch linux, ubuntu and after some times that band appears and stay there, on the printscreen you can see it but it is flashing.
idea?
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot_20230403_154440.png
    Screenshot_20230403_154440.png
    20.6 KB · Views: 129


Brickwizard

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2021
Messages
4,946
Reaction score
3,311
Credits
36,802
silly question but if you enable the speaker does it go away [it looks like it's warning you the speakers are off or not functioning ]
can you run from a terminal inxi -A and paste back the results?
 
OP
J

james80

New Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2021
Messages
18
Reaction score
1
Credits
144
silly question but if you enable the speaker does it go away [it looks like it's warning you the speakers are off or not functioning ]
can you run from a terminal inxi -A and paste back the results?
nope, mute or not it is the same.

Code:
Audio:
  Device-1: NVIDIA GF108 High Definition Audio driver: snd_hda_intel
  Device-2: AMD Family 17h HD Audio driver: snd_hda_intel
  Sound API: ALSA v: k6.1.0-kali7-amd64 running: yes
  Sound Server-1: PulseAudio v: 16.1 running: yes
 

KGIII

Super Moderator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Jul 23, 2020
Messages
10,683
Reaction score
9,176
Credits
88,690
Disable it, perhaps? I've done some reading in the past 10 minutes (not a lot), but look here:


It's got a line across it in your image, so it's not being used.

Something else I read was 'auto-mute' being enabled in Alsa-mixer. I'm not 100% sure how to disable that as I've never seen it before. But, that might be another route. The line through it could mean that it's muted, I suppose.
 

MikeWalsh

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2022
Messages
607
Reaction score
753
Credits
7,961
Um.....I could be wrong here, but why are the Nvidia card and the AMD audio chip both being "fed" by the Intel sound driver? Doesn't make a whole heap of sense to me, y'know? o_O

Did anybody else notice that?

@KGIII :-

If you open a terminal and type

Code:
alsamixer

....and hit 'Enter', that's the easiest way to bring it up. It's an ncurses GUI frontend for the mixer. Then just use the keyboard left/right keys to navigate, up/down keys to adjust and 'Enter' to set. It's in real-time, so as you make the alterations it's applying them instantly.


Mike. ;)
 
Last edited:

KGIII

Super Moderator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Jul 23, 2020
Messages
10,683
Reaction score
9,176
Credits
88,690
Did anybody else notice that?

I do believe I noticed the hodgepodge of devices which was why I was more comfortable suggesting deletion.

I think? I dunno... That was a week ago. Only because I'm a creature of habit can I even tell you where I was a week ago - and then only part of the day.
 

Members online


Top