Praise for Linux

charlie.corder

Reaction score
Credits
Good day to everyone,

I bought a small Gateway laptop the other day that comes with Windows 10 installed. All my other cp's have various Linux distros installed on them, {3 desktops and 2 laptops}.
I spent about 20 years using Windows from 3.1 up to Win 7.
I thought it would further my education to have a look at Win. 10. Besides, when my present lappie gives up the ghost I can always install Linux on the Gateway later.

I have been using Linux since about 2017 or 18. I remember the problems I had with the transition to Linux.
Those problems were fewer than any new person now has trying to figure out Win 10.

Linux terminology makes much more sense than Windows. For instance, if I want to write a short essay, what program would I use for that? In Win. Office you have to find a program that's called 'Word'. In Linux, Libre Office you look for the program called 'Writer'. I don't have to be a genius to realize that 'word' is what I am going to 'write', not a program to use.

It has taken me several tries to figure out where stuff is located in Win. 10, and I know pretty much what I am looking for. Must be more difficult for a newbie.

To me, Linux just makes things so much easier to use, as I have things set up just the way I want them, and know where to look for them.

I really believe that if someone who had never used a computer before, were to start out by using Linux, they would become proficient well before they had memorized all the things they had to learn in order to use Windows.

With Linux you are actually using your mental abilities, along with your memory, instead of just memorizing a bunch of things without any thought process. Linux sharpens your mental acuity, while Win. does not require any thought.