Possible SQL database issue?

ThinkPad

Reaction score
Credits
So I think that one of the packages I'm trying to install is having an issue due to QSL problems?

myqsl command isn't found. So if I try to install it, the package isn't found

sudo apt-get install mysql-apt-config
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree... Done
Reading state information... Done
E: Unable to locate package mysql-apt-config

or

$ sudo apt-get install mysql
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree... Done
Reading state information... Done
E: Unable to locate package mysql

So I tried sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade

and that went through the process, but I'm still having difficulty. Most of what I've done is from searching on the internet as I'm new to this. What am I missing?

Thanks.

Can I assume that when you write "QSL" that you actually mean "SQL"? If so, I recommend that you edit the title - it might get more attention for your thread.

Can I assume that when you write "QSL" that you actually mean "SQL"? If so, I recommend that you edit the title - it might get more attention for your thread.
Thanks for spotting that, one handed typing at the moment because I have a week old baby boy in the other arm all day, so plenty of mistakes being made :)

Last edited:
The package name is probably different what of mysql are you wanting to install exactly?

Last edited:
The package name is probably different what of mysql are you wanting to install exactly?

Thanks for the tip. I suppose in that case what I should try and do is work out what I've done and what I need and work out if I can remove any mistakes.

A quick package search on a mostly-default system suggests those package names don't exist among the default repositories. There are a number of MySQL options in there, but none by the name(s) you were using with your apt command.