Nwe Linux Convert

Steven Carpenter

Reaction score
Credits
I'm not a techie, no good with computers, don't know any command line prompts, and fed up with Windows OS. I've been using a Chromebook for the past 3 years because I never needed any software. But over the past two months I've been learning Python on Sololearn. Now that I'm somewhat well versed I needed the hardware to download Python so I bought: Lenovo - 130-15AST - AMD A6 Series - 4 GB Memory - AMD Radeon R4 - 500 GB Hard Drive. The OS on this thing should not be lagging after only 5 hours of use; the windows bar and cortana search won't even work. So here I am hoping to switch to Linux and be done with Windows OS for good. Some basic questions:

Which Linux distribution do ya'll think can work best with the hardware I have on my Lenovo; from what I've read so far this probably won't be an issue. I'm thinking Mint.

Which Linux distribution would work best with Python, MySQL, SciPy, MatPlot, and Excel? I have no interest in gaming or video.

After I download the Linux OS can I uninstall/permanently delete Windows 10?

Thanks for your help.

P.S. I still love my Chromebook.

Congratulations the Chromebook runs Chrome OS which is based on the Linux Kernel.

can I uninstall/permanently delete Windows 10?
BEWARE totally deleting Windows until you are absolutely sure that you don't want it. You could dual boot for a while or run one OS virtualised on the other.

The only thing that does not run natively on Linux. I think, is Excel. It can be run in your Browser is you go to the website. Or you can run in Linux under Wine. Or use an Linux alternative.
https://www.makeuseof.com/tag/install-microsoft-excel-linux/

So here I am hoping to switch to Linux and be done with Windows OS for good.

I love it when they talk dirty like that :D:D

G'day @Steven Carpenter and welcome to linux.org :)

(Wizard appears in a puff of smoke humming Queen's "We Will Rock You" and substituting Linux lyrics)