Purchase Linux CDs / DVDs / Flash Drives at OSDisc.com

Welcome to Our Community

While Linux.org has been around for a while, we recently changed management and had to purge most of the content (including users). If you signed up before April 23rd, 2017 please sign up again. Thanks!

  1. More ways to get the info! - we shoot all of our new original content out as well as random messages on Twitter and our newsletter!. Twitter | Newsletter
    Dismiss Notice

NVR Disk Not Mounting

Discussion in 'General Linux' started by ShadeyJones, Jan 31, 2019.

  1. ShadeyJones

    ShadeyJones New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Newbie here!
    I have a 2 TB Western Digital Hard drive from a Flir/Lorex NVR camera recorder.
    I could not see the partition in windows so someone said to install Linux and it can read anything.
    So i installed Linux Mint, installed the drive via usb external caddy.
    It shows up as a 54gb partition with nothing in it.
    Need help
    http://i67.tinypic.com/fn4xw2.png
    http://i64.tinypic.com/316vh1v.png


    (Log in to hide this advertisement)

     
  2. wizardfromoz

    wizardfromoz Super Moderator
    Staff Member Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    2,785
    Likes Received:
    2,249
  3. ShadeyJones

    ShadeyJones New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, I know it's probably something stupid and will be needing a Dinozzo Slap after all this, lol
     
  4. ShadeyJones

    ShadeyJones New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can anybody help?
     
  5. wizardfromoz

    wizardfromoz Super Moderator
    Staff Member Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    2,785
    Likes Received:
    2,249
    Possibly not, @ShadeyJones , or someone may have swung by, by now.

    Have you considered getting in touch with the manufacturers to see if they can help?

    Wizard
     
  6. ShadeyJones

    ShadeyJones New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  7. Rob

    Rob Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    919
    Hey there.. in linux, have you tried to mount it?

    you'd want to create an empty directory like .. 'mkdir /drive' ... then mount it specifying the type like 'mount -t ntfs /dev/sda2 /drive'. Sometimes you can get away w/o specifying a filesystem type, but above, it looks like it's ntfs.
     
    wizardfromoz and Kryptoghost like this.
  8. Kryptoghost

    Kryptoghost New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2019
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    23
    You might try "df -h" in the command line to see if linux sees any data on the drives. Additionally I agree with Rob, try mounting the drive first.
     
    wizardfromoz likes this.
  9. ShadeyJones

    ShadeyJones New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    did the above and this what i got
    [email protected]:~$ mount -t ntfs /dev/sda2 /drive
    mount: only root can use "--types" option
     
  10. Kryptoghost

    Kryptoghost New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2019
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    23
    stick a sudo at the beginning of that command.

    Code:
     sudo mount -t ntfs /dev/sda2 /drive 
     
    wizardfromoz likes this.
  11. ShadeyJones

    ShadeyJones New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    [email protected]:~$ sudo mount -t ntfs /dev/sda2 /drive
    Mount is denied because the NTFS volume is already exclusively opened.
    The volume may be already mounted, or another software may use it which
    could be identified for example by the help of the 'fuser' command.
    [email protected]:~$
     
  12. wizardfromoz

    wizardfromoz Super Moderator
    Staff Member Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    2,785
    Likes Received:
    2,249
    Reboot and repeat the command

    Wiz
     

Share This Page