No GUI after installing Debian 8.2 with KDE on XENServer VM

B

Bassmann

Hi there,

I'm attempting to setup Debian 8.2 on a XENServer VM 6.5 SP1. I'm a newbie to Linux and have encountered a problem. The install completed but upon reboot it doesn't boot to KDE which I specified on the install as the default interface, it boots to the cmd prompt. The said machine is on my home LAN and I can connect the XS console fine.

Post install, I've tried to reinstall KDE but it says its already installed. When I try to start x server i get the error message below...To confirm I've reinstalled the VM from scratch only to end at the same point.

From googling I think I need to manually edit the xorg conf file. But to be honest I'm not really sure what I need to do to get Debian to boot to KDE.

Any suggestions appreciated.

Bassmann

root@debian:~# startx

X Org X Server 1.16.4
Release Date: 2014-12-20
X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0
Build Operating System: Linux 3.16.0-4-amd64 x86_64 Debian
Current Operating System: Linux debian 3.16.0-4-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 3.16.7-ckt11-1+deb8u6 (2015-11-09) x86_64
Kernel command line: root=/dev/mapper/debian--vg-root ro console=hvc0 quiet -- quiet console=hvc0

Current version of pixman: 0.32.6
Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
(++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
(WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(==) Log file: "/var/log/Xorg.0.log", Time: Fri Nov 13 18:29:16 2015
(==) Using system config directory "/usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d"
(EE)
Fatal server error:
(EE) no screens found(EE)

(EE) Server terminated with error (1). Closing log file.
xinit: giving up
xinit: unable to connect to X server: Connection refused
xinit: server error
root@debian:~# ~~~

I'm not sure if this will help much, but it appears something is wrong with the graphics driver (or lack of one). Try running
Code:
apt-get install xorg
then try starting the x server again.

Hi jerz4lunch.