No booting

noobOfnoobs

New Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2021
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Credits
91
I have this error when booting

at first there seem to be some disk issues, as the server at some immediate shutdowns due to power (wasnt on UPS as it was being racked at the time)
which appeared to cause some file system issues, after a fsck, i am now at this point.... no boot...

the disks are part f hardware raid, the raid is healthy btw
booting with linux rescue , find no valid linux installations



1616971292808.png
 


olsoncr

New Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2021
Messages
14
Reaction score
3
Credits
126
I ran into something similar the other day. In my case, this helped:

1- Boot into live CD.
2- make sure your local disk(s) is/are visible. (blkid, fidisk, lsblk)
3- activate your raid (dmraid -a)
3- scan you physical volumes (pvscan)
4- activate your vg (vgchange -a y <vg>)
5- mount/fsck your logical volumes

Try that first and then move to the recovery part
 
Last edited:
OP
N

noobOfnoobs

New Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2021
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Credits
91
thanks

when i try dmraid -a i get no block devices
however i can scan and activate and this is my output
1617106159748.png
 

Attachments

  • 1617106003715.png
    1617106003715.png
    55 KB · Views: 135

olsoncr

New Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2021
Messages
14
Reaction score
3
Credits
126
is all that when booting from live?
Please share the output of the blkid, df -h and mount commands once your volumes are activated.
 
Last edited:
OP
N

noobOfnoobs

New Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2021
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Credits
91
sorry for late reply , was away...
the good news is i can mount volume and see the data , but still a failing to boot system
my error message has graduated to after doing a fsck

1618363506312.png
 

olsoncr

New Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2021
Messages
14
Reaction score
3
Credits
126
Do you really want to recover the current installation?

If not, reinstall the system and mount your current home volume into the new /home directory.
 
OP
N

noobOfnoobs

New Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2021
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Credits
91
i think this is cooked, is there a way to reinstlal linux over the top of the current installation
without overwriting the couple of directories i need.
 

olsoncr

New Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2021
Messages
14
Reaction score
3
Credits
126
There is, what are the directories you are interested? That info will help. Is it your /home directory only?
 
OP
N

noobOfnoobs

New Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2021
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Credits
91
this machine has an oracle application installed
its called app and and the other app1
 
$100 Digital Ocean Credit
Get a free VM to test out Linux!

Members online


Top