Newer to Linux, Need help choosing a version to use as a server

Reaction score
Credits
I have some experience with Linux, but by no means am remotely considered much more then a noob upon it. I'm also a web developer and I own a couple of business ventures beyond that, and here I am finally wanting to network up my work stations, turn one of my boxes into a server, but have it not be some command line only wonder.

I'm earmarking a tower for the server that was running Vista until I reformatted it and installed Ubuntu that doesn't seem to get to a gui, so stuck in command prompt land until I figure out what's wrong. I have Slakware running via. CD on it as well, it too has it's own fun anomaly of not being able to see the hard drive to mount and view it... I haven't tried Red Hat yet, can't bring myself to shell out money for what is supposed to be a free OS ie. Linux, but Red Hat has been always an OS web servers used I'm familiar with working on, at least peer to server towards building web sites.

I need advice, should I try to keep trying to get Ubuntu server edition to get what ever it needs figured out, after learning the alien language I'm seeing people are putting out on it for help with install and getting it running and configuring it, well, on most Linux support sites, or should I be starting with another flavor all together?

I think it would be a blast to have my own personal self contained internet that could technically be shared alongside of the other servers on the web if I opted to get a bigger pipe for bandwidth and upgrade it's resources, it would also have great advantages towards the business side as well and it will teach me a lot in the process.

Thank you guys ahead of time, and thank all that have contributed to development and support of Linux..

Normally servers don't have a GUI. People use another computer, with a GUI, to remotely access them if necessary. Ubuntu Server Edition does not come with a GUI!