Newbie: setting up a new home network

VicenteMMOS

Reaction score
Credits
Hello all!

As part of my migration away from big corporation software, among other things, I would need to use a FOSS cloud storage service. Having done some research, I concluded Nextcloud would be a great option, so I started the installation process in my home desktop (running Arch Linux).

I must admit, it was quite difficult to install the LAMP stack and Nextcloud itself, given that I have little to no knowledge in database structure, or any of the sort, but I believe I did it right. I now manage to open my browser, type localhost and see my Nextcloud login page, and finally to use my chosen username and password and access my account. So I think this first step is done correctly.

But then, I tried accessing it on my laptop (Linux Mint), and surprise surprise, it was unavailable. I had installed the Nextcloud sharing app on it, but I didn't manage to login to my account, because for some reason the app wouldn't accept the addess I inserted in order to connect to my database. I wonder if I have to reinstall the entire LAMP stack and Nextcloud service in my laptop just the way I did on my desktop.

This is something I want to do as well as on a macbook air I have at home, and both macbook as well as the Linux Mint laptop must be able to access the database from an external internet connection. So, my question is, what am I missing here? What else beyond maybe configuring each computer as a localhost and then sharing access between one another do I still have to do in order to grant remote acces, from an external network? Is this even possible? Would this forum even be the right place where to ask this question?

Thank you so much!