New To linux and the world of programming.

ImOverThere

Reaction score
Credits
Hello, I'm new to the programming area and to the world of Linux. Microsoft ticked me off for the very last time. I'm starting this thread to pic your brains and learn as much as possible, from both those that have been using Linux from the beginning, and through research. I'm downloading Ubuntu today so hopefully that goes well.... In case you are wondering where i'm starting my programming off at, i'm starting with C then will move on from there. The compiler i'm using is Atom io.

Hi @ImOverThere, and welcome! Our brains have been pretty well picked over already, but we will do our best to help you along. :D

I'm not a programmer myself, but there are some folks on here that are quite talented. Ubuntu is a great choice for a first distro for its ease of installation and use, and it has many "flavors" available to provide different Desktop Environments (DE's) so that you're sure to find something you are comfortable with (in case you don't care for your first pick). The standard Ubuntu now uses the Gnome Desktop Environment... it appeals to many people with its more "modern" styling, but some people prefer a more traditional look on their desktop.

So let us know how your install went, and which Ubuntu you picked. Did all of your hardware work okay with Ubuntu... sound, wireless, etc? If you have specific issues or problems, please open up a new thread with an appropriate title for the problem... focusing individual problems on their own threads helps others to find such discussions when they have similar issues. Thanks!

Cheers