New install - dual boot with Windows 10

Ben Williams

Reaction score
Credits
I have just installed kali Linux on my computer, a HP pavilion( just have brought maybe a month and a half ago) and I was able to download it to a live USB, but during the set NIC setup kali said it couldn't find my NIC card that it needs. But I'm up todate on intels lastest so, what can I do to fix this problem?

Hi Ben, and welcome! You don't say, but I guess you mean wireless nic. I'm not sure if you are aware, but Kali is really designed for advanced Linux security professionals (which I am not). If you are advanced enough for this distro, the Kali official documentation here should probably steer you to a solution. Good luck!

i am by no means a security professional. Just really trying to learn how Linux works. Which distro would be good for a beginner?

i am by no means a security professional. Just really trying to learn how Linux works. Which distro would be good for a beginner?

Okay then, maybe I can help! There are many good solid distributions that are good for new users. I think people usually start out with the Ubuntu family... Ubuntu itself, or some that are derived from it, such as Linux Mint and Linux Lite. There are many more too. A prime advantage of this family of distros is that usually all of your hardware (like wireless, sound, etc) will work right away without special effort.

Since you've been through the installation process with Kali, you won't find these distros much different. The simplest method is to let Linux install on the "entire disk." So that would erase Kali... but it would also erase Windows too. Are you trying to keep Windows? Setting up dual-boot needs a little more care, and things can go wrong. So if you do have Windows, you should create a "System Recovery" set (DVD or USB) in case of disaster. HP should have included a tool in Windows to make the Recovery set.

So, I'll pause there and see where you're at on this.