Netgear A6200 Wireless USB Stick

Gomad

Reaction score
Credits
Hey all, I'm very new to Linux, and have just set up Linux Mint 18.3 MATE 64 bit, and I would like to know if I can get my Netgear A6200 Wireless USB stick to work. Both my router and the USB stick have WPS authentication capabilities, but Linux doesn't recognize the stick when I plug it in. I've done a search but couldn't find anything about using this stick with Mint 18.3. Any help will be appreciated. TIA

Steve

Hi Steve

You could go the ndiswrapper/WINE route as suggested elsewhere by Stan, or you might try seeing if there is a Linux driver already in place for you.

Some sources indicate that a driver for the A6210 also works for the A6200 - that would not surprise me because I find that sometimes with printers.

When you get a chance, give us the output from

Code:
sudo lshw -C network; lsb_release -a; lsusb

That is 3 commands separated by semicolons.

Mine looks like the spoiler content, but I don't use a dongle

chris@SylviaMATE-Study ~ $ sudo lshw -C network; lsb_release -a; lsusb
[sudo] password for chris:
*-network
description: Wireless interface
product: QCA9565 / AR9565 Wireless Network Adapter
vendor: Qualcomm Atheros
physical id: 0
bus info: pci@0000:0d:00.0
logical name: wlp13s0
version: 01
serial: a4:db:30:2c:2d:75
width: 64 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pm msi pciexpress bus_master cap_list rom ethernet physical wireless
configuration: broadcast=yes driver=ath9k driverversion=4.13.0-32-generic firmware=N/A ip=192.168.1.102 latency=0 link=yes multicast=yes wireless=IEEE 802.11
resources: irq:18 memory:d3500000-d357ffff memory:d3580000-d358ffff
*-network
description: Ethernet interface
product: AR8161 Gigabit Ethernet
vendor: Qualcomm Atheros
physical id: 0
bus info: pci@0000:0e:00.0
logical name: enp14s0
version: 10
serial: 08:9e:01:e7:f7:0a
capacity: 1Gbit/s
width: 64 bits
clock: 33MHz