Nemo Won't Recognize USB

SpongebobFan1994

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2021
Messages
683
Reaction score
391
Credits
6,615
I'm using the 5.0.5 version in Mint 20.2 on a Lenovo X200 Thinkpad laptop/tablet. Before, I thought it might've been a hardware issue, but then I realized it wasn't after I searched for some answers online and tried a few things to troubleshoot it. I'm wondering if I need to upgrade Nemo?
 


Condobloke

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
4,636
Reaction score
4,026
Credits
26,254
In what way are you trying to access the usb stick with nemo ?

Walk us through what you are doing.
 

Condobloke

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
4,636
Reaction score
4,026
Credits
26,254
So, the usb is inserted. Is it recognised? If you double click on Home...(on the desktop) do you see the usb listed on the left hand side ?
 
OP
SpongebobFan1994

SpongebobFan1994

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2021
Messages
683
Reaction score
391
Credits
6,615
So, the usb is inserted. Is it recognised? If you double click on Home...(on the desktop) do you see the usb listed on the left hand side ?

Its inserted, but not appearing on the left side. Yet it will appear if I bring up the "disks" program or use the "lsusb" command.
 

Condobloke

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
4,636
Reaction score
4,026
Credits
26,254
If you right click on the file, and select "move to" ....or "copy to" ....do you get the choice of sending to that usb ?
 

Condobloke

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
4,636
Reaction score
4,026
Credits
26,254
Code:
lsusb

copy and paste that into Terminal.

Tell me if the usb stick is seen there
 

Condobloke

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
4,636
Reaction score
4,026
Credits
26,254
just saw your post .... Yet it will appear if I bring up the "disks" program or use the "lsusb" command.

So, open the disks app and mount it there

open disks
click on the usb stick
then click on the two gears situated just under the space that represents the usb stick
select 'Edit Mount Options'
tick the box for 'Mount at System Startup'
click ok down the bottom
reboot
 
OP
SpongebobFan1994

SpongebobFan1994

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2021
Messages
683
Reaction score
391
Credits
6,615
open disks
click on the usb stick
then click on the two gears situated just under the space that represents the usb stick
select 'Edit Mount Options'
tick the box for 'Mount at System Startup'
click ok down the bottom
reboot

I clicked on the gears icon, but "edit mount options" isn't highlighted for whatever reason

Screenshot from 2022-06-14 23-10-21.png
 

JasKinasis

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2017
Messages
1,489
Reaction score
2,114
Credits
10,609
Is the drive formatted? If not, you’ll need to format it.
If so, What file-system is in use on the USB drive?
The volume information is hidden in your screenshot, the right click context menu is in the way. But from looking at the greyed out options in the context menu, it looks probable that it is either unformatted, or it’s using a file-system that is currently unrecognised, or is unsupported.

Do you have the appropriate drivers/software installed for that particular file-system? You may need to install some additional fuse drivers in order to use the file-system.
 

wizardfromoz

Administrator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
7,298
Reaction score
6,195
Credits
24,880
David does GParted reveal the USB stick and if so please post us a screenshot?

Wiz

BTW just noticed Jas' post ... him first
 
OP
SpongebobFan1994

SpongebobFan1994

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2021
Messages
683
Reaction score
391
Credits
6,615
Is the drive formatted? If not, you’ll need to format it.
If so, What file-system is in use on the USB drive?
The volume information is hidden in your screenshot, the right click context menu is in the way. But from looking at the greyed out options in the context menu, it looks probable that it is either unformatted, or it’s using a file-system that is currently unrecognised, or is unsupported.

Do you have the appropriate drivers/software installed for that particular file-system? You may need to install some additional fuse drivers in order to use the file-system.

I just formatted it. I don't know what file system it's using because I don't know how to look it up.
 

Condobloke

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
4,636
Reaction score
4,026
Credits
26,254
This from an empty usb stick. i inserted it in a usb sloe and it immediately appeared on my desktop.
I have right clicked it and selected properties

1655322529440.png
 

bob466

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2020
Messages
345
Reaction score
266
Credits
2,566
It might be a good idea to try another one.
happy0021.gif
 
$100 Digital Ocean Credit
Get a free VM to test out Linux!

Linux.org Hosting Donations
Consider making a donation

Members online


Latest posts

Top