MX Linux AHS - Keyboard Not Responding

Lord Boltar

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2020
Messages
1,646
Reaction score
1,082
Credits
12,268
I'm having the same trouble in Lubuntu as with all of the others. I learned about a kernel installation app called Ukuu. Have you heard of it? The open (read: Free) version is no longer available. Is it worth paying for? (Keep in mind at this point I am willing to offer up my first born child to solve this problem!)
I have plugged in a USB keyboard and that works well. It does reduce one of the two main headaches.
I tried the cmd "apt install linux-oem-20.04b" to no avail. "Couldn't find any package by glob "linux-oem-20.04b". Could that be because I installed Lubuntu vers 21.04?
A
yep you installed a version that is going to die soon on Jan 20, 2022 next month - linux-oem kernels only work on LTS versions
 


OP
Atheist

Atheist

Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2021
Messages
82
Reaction score
28
Credits
707
yep you installed a version that is going to die soon on Jan 20, 2022 next month - linux-oem kernels only work on LTS versions
I am following these instructions to upgrade.
 

Lord Boltar

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2020
Messages
1,646
Reaction score
1,082
Credits
12,268
Go here - https://kernel.ubuntu.com/~kernel-ppa/mainline/v5.15.10/
download the following
amd64/linux-headers-5.15.10-051510-generic_5.15.10-051510.202112171031_amd64.deb
amd64/linux-headers-5.15.10-051510_5.15.10-051510.202112171031_all.deb
amd64/linux-image-unsigned-5.15.10-051510-generic_5.15.10-051510.202112171031_amd64.deb
amd64/linux-modules-5.15.10-051510-generic_5.15.10-051510.202112171031_amd64.deb
once all 4 are downloaded open a terminal inside the folder you have saved the files to and type in
Code:
sudo dpkg -i *.deb
to install - once done reboot and check the kernel by running
Code:
uname -r
be advised this is a mainline kernel and not an Ubuntu Kernel
 

KGIII

Super Moderator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Jul 23, 2020
Messages
6,116
Reaction score
5,494
Credits
49,278
I'm having the same trouble in Lubuntu as with all of the others. I learned about a kernel installation app called Ukuu. Have you heard of it? The open (read: Free) version is no longer available. Is it worth paying for? (Keep in mind at this point I am willing to offer up my first born child to solve this problem!)
I have plugged in a USB keyboard and that works well. It does reduce one of the two main headaches.
I tried the cmd "apt install linux-oem-20.04b" to no avail. "Couldn't find any package by glob "linux-oem-20.04b". Could that be because I installed Lubuntu vers 21.04?
A

No no... Use "Mainline" to upgrade just a kernel.


But, I'd say try the HWE stack first if you're using LTS - lemme get you directions.


Also, which version of Lubuntu are you using?
 
OP
Atheist

Atheist

Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2021
Messages
82
Reaction score
28
Credits
707

Lord Boltar

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2020
Messages
1,646
Reaction score
1,082
Credits
12,268
Earlier you said - I tried the cmd "apt install linux-oem-20.04b" to no avail. "Couldn't find any package by glob "linux-oem-20.04b". Could that be because I installed Lubuntu vers 21.04?
so you have installed 21.10 now? just trying to clarify your version
 
OP
Atheist

Atheist

Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2021
Messages
82
Reaction score
28
Credits
707
Earlier you said - I tried the cmd "apt install linux-oem-20.04b" to no avail. "Couldn't find any package by glob "linux-oem-20.04b". Could that be because I installed Lubuntu vers 21.04?
so you have installed 21.10 now? just trying to clarify your version
yes 21.04...wait, let me check
 
OP
Atheist

Atheist

Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2021
Messages
82
Reaction score
28
Credits
707
Earlier you said - I tried the cmd "apt install linux-oem-20.04b" to no avail. "Couldn't find any package by glob "linux-oem-20.04b". Could that be because I installed Lubuntu vers 21.04?
so you have installed 21.10 now? just trying to clarify your version
i was correct the first time. sorry. 21.10, impish
 

KGIII

Super Moderator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Jul 23, 2020
Messages
6,116
Reaction score
5,494
Credits
49,278
This is a case of too many cooks spoiling the pot.

I'm going to just observe from here on out. Boltar has you moving in the right direction.
 

Lord Boltar

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2020
Messages
1,646
Reaction score
1,082
Credits
12,268
OP
Atheist

Atheist

Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2021
Messages
82
Reaction score
28
Credits
707
What version did wget download? 5.15.10? generic or lowlatency?
generic, but the dates look earlier in 2021, like March...
I have downloaded the 4 files you mentioned above. Can I dpkg them since I have not yet rebooted after the previous wget/dpkg? (Am I using these as verbs correctly?!)
thanks
A
P.S. Nothing ventured, nothing gained...I'm going in! I will report back.
 
Last edited:

Lord Boltar

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2020
Messages
1,646
Reaction score
1,082
Credits
12,268
generic, but the dates look earlier in 2021, like March...
I have downloaded the 4 files you mentioned above. Can I dpkg them since I have not yet rebooted after the previous wget/dpkg? (Am I using these as verbs correctly?!)
thanks
A
wget is a downloader dpkg is the installer - I would delete the files wget got and use the ones you downloaded from what I posted above - once you have deleted the wget files - open a terminal inside the folder you saved the 4 files usually the Downloads folder- in PCManFM cilck on Tool then Open Terminal - should show the path as ~/Downloads$
Now type in
Code:
sudo dpkg -i *.deb
this will install the 4 kernel files - once done reboot and check with
Code:
uname -r
 
OP
Atheist

Atheist

Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2021
Messages
82
Reaction score
28
Credits
707
Now type in
Code:
sudo dpkg -i *.deb
this will install the 4 kernel files - once done reboot and check with
Code:
uname -r
uname -r yields => 5.15.10-051510-generic !!
I will now check if it makes a difference with the screen flickering as the cursor moves onscreen by removing nomodeset from grub. thanks
A
 
OP
Atheist

Atheist

Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2021
Messages
82
Reaction score
28
Credits
707
:-(
I am gob-smacked, and not in a good way. Same screen flickering as I move the screen cursor. Adding "nomodeset" to the grub will take care of that. Maybe the drivers are not there yet for the Intel TIgerLake chip?
And the keyboard is not seen. What's funny is that the keyboard works fine at the grub menu. I will post the xinput list results next.
 
OP
Atheist

Atheist

Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2021
Messages
82
Reaction score
28
Credits
707
The Logotech mechanical keyboard is the external usb one:
_______________________________---
~$ xinput list
⎡ Virtual core pointer id=2 [master pointer (3)]
⎜ ↳ Virtual core XTEST pointer id=4 [slave pointer (2)]
⎜ ↳ Logitech Optical USB Mouse id=10 [slave pointer (2)]
⎜ ↳ LogoTech Mechanical Keyboard Consumer Control id=12 [slave pointer (2)]
⎜ ↳ ELAN901C:00 04F3:2E8B id=15 [slave pointer (2)]
⎜ ↳ MSFT0001:00 06CB:CE44 Mouse id=16 [slave pointer (2)]
⎜ ↳ MSFT0001:00 06CB:CE44 Touchpad id=17 [slave pointer (2)]
⎣ Virtual core keyboard id=3 [master keyboard (2)]
↳ Virtual core XTEST keyboard id=5 [slave keyboard (3)]
↳ Power Button id=6 [slave keyboard (3)]
↳ Sleep Button id=7 [slave keyboard (3)]
↳ Integrated Camera: Integrated C id=8 [slave keyboard (3)]
↳ Integrated Camera: Integrated I id=9 [slave keyboard (3)]
↳ LogoTech Mechanical Keyboard id=11 [slave keyboard (3)]
↳ LogoTech Mechanical Keyboard System Control id=13 [slave keyboard (3)]
↳ LogoTech Mechanical Keyboard id=14 [slave keyboard (3)]
↳ Ideapad extra buttons id=18 [slave keyboard (3)]
↳ Intel HID events id=19 [slave keyboard (3)]
↳ Intel HID 5 button array id=20 [slave keyboard (3)]
↳ LogoTech Mechanical Keyboard Consumer Control id=21 [slave keyboard (3)
 
OP
Atheist

Atheist

Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2021
Messages
82
Reaction score
28
Credits
707
and now, as Wzi predicted. The builtin keyboard works after disabling the touchscreen
xinput disable 15
[email protected]:~$ xinput list
⎡ Virtual core pointer id=2 [master pointer (3)]
⎜ ↳ Virtual core XTEST pointer id=4 [slave pointer (2)]
⎜ ↳ Logitech Optical USB Mouse id=10 [slave pointer (2)]
⎜ ↳ LogoTech Mechanical Keyboard Consumer Control id=12 [slave pointer (2)]
⎜ ↳ MSFT0001:00 06CB:CE44 Mouse id=16 [slave pointer (2)]
⎜ ↳ MSFT0001:00 06CB:CE44 Touchpad id=17 [slave pointer (2)]
⎜ ↳ ELAN901C:00 04F3:2E8B id=15 [slave pointer (2)]
⎣ Virtual core keyboard id=3 [master keyboard (2)]
↳ Virtual core XTEST keyboard id=5 [slave keyboard (3)]
↳ Power Button id=6 [slave keyboard (3)]
↳ Sleep Button id=7 [slave keyboard (3)]
↳ Integrated Camera: Integrated C id=8 [slave keyboard (3)]
↳ Integrated Camera: Integrated I id=9 [slave keyboard (3)]
↳ LogoTech Mechanical Keyboard id=11 [slave keyboard (3)]
↳ LogoTech Mechanical Keyboard System Control id=13 [slave keyboard (3)]
↳ LogoTech Mechanical Keyboard id=14 [slave keyboard (3)]
↳ Ideapad extra buttons id=18 [slave keyboard (3)]
↳ Intel HID events id=19 [slave keyboard (3)]
↳ Intel HID 5 button array id=20 [slave keyboard (3)]
↳ LogoTech Mechanical Keyboard Consumer Control id=21 [slave keyboard (3)]
↳ AT Translated Set 2 keyboard id=22 [slave keyboard (3)]
 
OP
Atheist

Atheist

Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2021
Messages
82
Reaction score
28
Credits
707
Note that ID=22 did not show up until I disabled the touchscreen.
Progress?
A
 
OP
Atheist

Atheist

Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2021
Messages
82
Reaction score
28
Credits
707
I think I am close to this, but I have nothing further to offer immediately, so please go ahead with any plans.
Well, one piece of data: xinput list showed that the touchscreen was ID=15 and the external keyboard was 19-21. No sign of the laptop keyboard. But when I disabled 15 (the screen) a new id=22 showed up. I was able to enable it. And the keyboard responded.
Unfortunately I have repeated that experiment twice and those two times the keyboard does not show up to be enabled.
A
 

Lord Boltar

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2020
Messages
1,646
Reaction score
1,082
Credits
12,268
Make sure the following packages are installed = (xserver-xorg-input-all) = (xserver-xorg-input-synaptics) = (xserver-xorg-input-kbd)

enabling or disabling through xinput is temporary and will go away after reboot

To enable the keyboard try
Code:
xinput set-prop "AT Translated Set 2 keyboard" "Device Enabled" 1
 
Last edited:
$100 Digital Ocean Credit
Get a free VM to test out Linux!

Members online


Top