Reaction score
Credits
How do i add more hard drives to my pc?
Distro Linux Mint 20.1
Motherboard) ASUS P7P55D PRO ,BiOS Version0209,CPU i5-750,
RAM 16GB DDR 1333MHz
Hard drive) WL 2t SATA3 7200RPM
Graphics card) NVIDIA GK104 [GeForce GTX 690]

I am thanking about a adding a second hard drive but I dont know how. i know the physical part but not the rest.
One for the OS will be (2tb SATA3) the other for video, photos, music, games…
will be (2tb-4tb) depending on the price. :eek:

Warning i am still a noob. LOL

I have looked online for tutorial but all I can find is tutorials for adding drives to virtual machines, raids, and people giving instructions i dont understand. (Thats on me):)

P.S. LOL i remember years ago thanking " How in the h*** would i ever fill a 100gb hard drive?!"

You can just physically add it. The OS will likely know it's there and mount it automatically. You will probably want to format it EXT4, as it's not coming formatted for Linux. If you want to put more effort into it, you can move /home to it easily enough, just remember to copy stuff there before making the change.

LOL That was a Noob question!! Thank you.

not a problem you will need
1 spare caddy [depending on the physical size of your chosen drive, you may need a caddy adaptor]& mounting screws
a SATA cable
a spare SATA connection on the motherboard

Something I don't know, as I've never tried it. Can you slave SATA like you could IDE? They don't have jumpers on 'em anymore.

not a problem you will need
1 spare caddy [depending on the physical size of your chosen drive, you may need a caddy adaptor]& mounting screws
a SATA cable
a spare SATA connection on the motherboard
Thank you. i have two drives that are clones of the one i am using and a 1tb that i used to test this.
Thank i got six more SATA connection on the motherboard. lol thank i got 14-15 old iDE drives to.

Last edited: