• Important: We recently upgraded our forum software - please let us know if you run into any issues.

Lubuntu 16.04 LTS Startup Sound.

quinton77

Hello everyone,

Not sure if this is the best place to share, so please direct me to a better sub if needed.

I have a friend that owns a very old laptop and Windows Vista had become basically unusable.I told him id fix it for free, but I'd be replacing the OS with a Linux Distro.All is good, I chose Lubuntu because of its Ubuntu-like gracefulness and light weight LXDE desktop environment.I really wanted him to be impressed with the new system, so i made it about as beautiful as you can make LXDE, but i wanted to make a custom startup sound for him. Apparently the majority of the community around Lubuntu doesnt like start-up sounds.Im no expert at all. I'm very noobie compared to most of you brilliant people here, so i was googling around all over for a way to make this thing play this darn audio file i made at start up.I did it.Got it working just like i wanted.The reason I'm making this post is because every forum i went to never had an answer.I dont want to make an account on all of those sites so i just wanted to post the solution on the front page of the internet for future people who may be facing the same problem.It was so simple and i feel silly..Lubuntu 16.04 LTS

vvvv!!!!!SOLUTION!!!!!vvvv

Open LXDession Configuration. (Menu > Preferences > Default Applications for LXSession)

Go to Auto Start,Add a manual autostart script.All you have to do here is just us paplay... (i know, im retarded..)I put the .ogg file in /libThe default filemanager is PCmanFMopen terminal, sudo pcmanfmmove the file to the directory you like, copy that file locationpaste with filename following, and put paplay at the beginning.

So its this.. paplay /lib/mattstartup.ogg

Sorry i know this is a waste of time for most of you, but i really wanted to help anyone else in the future looking for the solution lol

Thank you!

Condobloke