Lost graphics

Dave H

Reaction score
Credits
I am a Linux newb, so please forgive me.
I am running Debian Wheezy with LinuxCNC. I installed a new monitor and was trying to optimize the graphic settings. I accidentally clicked a check box that said something like "Use these settings" while setting resolution and refresh rate in Xfce. That unchecked the box and left me with a blank screen, and the "No Signal" message on the screen.
It gets as far as letting me log in, then the blank screen/no signal.

Is there a way I can reset/repair this without a full re-install of the OS?

Ys you just have to boot your PC into the recovery-mode.

You start your PC and if you see the debian boot screen you have to press esc/shift. Then you´re in the Grub menu, the reovery mode is easy to find.

Ok, thank you. So I think I am there. I see: root@dave:~#

Is there a boot file I can edit to add "startxfce4" to? Or something similar?

So, I set up a second user profile on this machine. Everything works fine. No problem with losing the desktop after login as with my original user. It would seem to me that it has something to do with the original user profile settings?? The original user is root. The second is not, and I could need that access at some point.
My preference is to get my Xfce desktop back on my original user profile. But, if that is not possible, can I make the second profile a root user and delete the first user?

BTW, when in Recovery Mode, logged in as the first user, I can type "startxfce4" and a generic desktop appears. Without my personal icons, of course. Didn't know if that bit of info would help.

Mate, you ask the BEST questions, seriously :)

(Wizard appears in a puff of smoke)

... and I am 61 in a few weeks, plenty of 60-plussers here, so you are in good company (of course I am biased) :p