Purchase Linux CDs / DVDs / Flash Drives at OSDisc.com

Welcome to Our Community

While Linux.org has been around for a while, we recently changed management and had to purge most of the content (including users). If you signed up before April 23rd please sign up again. Thanks!

  1. Get $5 off your first Lyft ride while helping us pay for hosting Linux.org! --> $5 Lyft
    Dismiss Notice

Linuxmint 17 "Qiana" install problem

Discussion in 'General Linux' started by Old Carpenter Guy, Nov 3, 2017.

  1. Old Carpenter Guy

    Old Carpenter Guy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    10
    Hi Wizard. Your summary is correct. As I was thinking about this problem.
    I do remember a pop window that informed me that something (not sure what it was) was not able to load when I installed the OS.

    Your summary is correct. I can unlock the OS but not the "sudo" and I have not been able to enable the firewall.
    Prior to executing the command. I decided to input my password at the prompt to be able to see my password so that I can be sure that there was no error in the keyboard.
    The password displayed correctly.
    My hunch is that something happened during the install. Perhaps a corrupted file.

    I just booted the OS and there is definitely some issue with the keyboard. I am attaching a picture of the keyboard. 20171112_160521.jpg

    AS you can see the "@" and quote symbols are not in the usual places. Let see if I can get those files you requested. Ok, I found the keyboard file and here it is.

    20171112_161445.jpg
    you guys are awesome, In my spare time I am building a wood gasifier to provide fuel for a genset to power your house in times of power outages. I digress that is for a different forum.:oops:

     
  2. arochester

    arochester Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    45
    1)
    This is caused by the "locale". You have a UK English keyboard but your computer thinks you are in the US. You need to find the keyboard settings and change this.

    2) When I last worked on a Packard Bell it gave problems because it had SIS graphics. Not all Linux distros still deal with this. The distro called LXDE sorted it out.
     
    atanere and wizardfromoz like this.
  3. Old Carpenter Guy

    Old Carpenter Guy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    10

    I should be able to change the settings.

    I have to ask what is SIS graphics? And would it serve me well to load LXDE to optimize the performance of the packard bell?It is a little sluggish when loading youtube vids.
    So much knowledge and thanks so much for helping me resurrect this dinosaur.
     
  4. arochester

    arochester Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    45
    SIS is an old graphics card. Like Nvidia or AMD now, but old.

    If your system is working now try to stick with it for a while. LXDE does have the catchphrase " Revive that old PC!" - but don't bale out now if you don't have to.

    http://www.lxle.net
     
    atanere likes this.
  5. Old Carpenter Guy

    Old Carpenter Guy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    10
    Ok. So much help not enough thanks. So a great big thanks!!!!!!!! 20171112_170636.jpg Still can not get the firewall enabled. password problem. I changed it to the UK keyboard, but nada. so here is a screenshot. Am I missing something?????:confused:o_O I even did a reboot after changing the settings.
     
  6. wizardfromoz

    wizardfromoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    313
    Hi all.

    @Old Carpenter Guy - Mate just revisit my Post in #5 page 1, or click here ... https://www.linux.org/threads/linuxmint-17-qiana-install-problem.14457/#post-47500 ... and review what I said there about LXLE with LXDE.

    I know, it is confusing :confused: isn't it?

    Qualifying what @arochester said above - LXDE is not actually a Linux Distro, it is a DE (Desktop Environment), just as you have with Xfce on your current Xubuntu.

    Also in that #5, the Wordpress article I linked to shows the DEs and their system requirements, and yes, LXDE scoots in at a little lower (better) than Xfce.
     
    atanere likes this.
  7. wizardfromoz

    wizardfromoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    313
    As regards your password dilemma, and on your current Xubuntu:

    You chose to encrypt your disk with the installation process (an advanced option I would not advise, but you were not to know). This would have generated a key of some sort, password-driven, and that would be different to the password you entered to use as Administrator (for sudo &c).

    Further, the encryption carries an overhead which reduces disk performance and that might account for the sluggish feel.

    Even if you do not have the passwords mixed up, the USA vs UK keyboard might have an impact depending on what characters you used in the password. For example, the character above my 3 (accessed by holding shift) is a #, whereas with UK it is a pound symbol.

    When you run through the installation process, I think the choice of what type of install to make eg
    • install alongside another system
    • erase disk and use full disk
    • other (manual partitioning)
    (and it is with the top one or two that the option is un-grayed to choose encryption and/or LVM partitioning)

    precedes the point where you choose your keyboard layout, is that right?

    Only if you are interested in reading more - launchpad is a site run by Ubuntu, which provides a lot of software, and also deals with bugs and bug fixes. A number of the Distros (including Linux Mint) based on Ubuntu make use of it as well.

    This proposed bug fix here

    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/ubiquity/+bug/1047384

    ... was put forward five (5) years ago - seems a lot still needs fixing.

    I'm going to nick off for a bit and put together a couple of proposed courses of action and come back with them, and see if one of them holds any appeal to you.

    Cheers

    Wizard
     
    atanere likes this.
  8. atanere

    atanere Moderator
    Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2017
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    386
    I'm wondering if switching keyboard configurations might further complicate the password problem?!?!? Well, especially if a character was used for the password that has now been remapped. But anyway....

    Due to sluggishness, password issue, encryption, and the fact that this is a brand new install and nothing really invested except some time (learning)... I think I might suggest a re-install, but using Lubuntu instead of Xubuntu. Lubuntu uses the LXDE desktop system so it would be a wee bit better than XFCE desktop. Another LXDE based distro that I've had good luck with on older computers is Peppermint OS.

    Also, as The Wizard said, encryption is probably more advanced than needed and hurts system performance. I would avoid encryption and LVM partitioning. During install of a new distro, you could also choose the proper keyboard at the beginning and hopefully avoid further issues on that. With passwords, you have to carefully note during the install if they ask for two passwords... one for the user, and one for "root" (root is the administrator)... both are important, but they can be the same to make life simpler for you.

    Do you have built-in WiFi on the laptop? And if so, is it working with Xubuntu? Properly enabling WiFi is another reason that Peppermint OS has be helpful to me in the past.

    Just my 2 cents for this round. You're doing great... you're learning! :D

    Cheers
     
    wizardfromoz and VP9KS like this.
  9. VP9KS

    VP9KS Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2017
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    108
    I guess old Ben Franklin was correct, eh young padawan?:D
     
  10. Old Carpenter Guy

    Old Carpenter Guy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    10
    Yes Oz you are correct. As the install proceeded it presented a choice of keyboard. Being naive with my first install I selected unmindful the US keyboard. Not realizing I was dealing with a UK board. So to add to the plot and deepen the mystery I reinstalled the entire distro. Thinking I got this beat I did not select the encryption feature. Even thought I wanted it as I intended this to hold some of my bitcoin. I will look at the proposed bug fix when I can focus a little more time to this situation.

    After the re-install of xubuntu. I did not select the the encryption feature. and tried once more to enable the firewall. Well, would you believe that it still told me my password was incorrect. after all since I did not select a password. I simply hit enter. I came home today after working on my wood gasifier. and booted up the system and low and behold it request my password to open the OS. Which I did, When I reloaded the OS it asked for a password to gain access to the OS. I did a real simple one, my name with the number 1 at the end. No special keys, no characters out of place. And guess what. The password was incorrect and would not let me gain access to the OS.....lol...roflmao. I have a gremlin in the laptop that thoroughly enjoys messing with me.

    So I did try and load the LXLE distro but came up with the same PAE issue. I did not pursue it further as I found the info needed to load the xubuntu distro. When I do go through the install on the xubuntu. I did get a request for the type of keyboard. I press all the responses and the last one ask me if I have an English pound key (currency) and I say yes and it continues to load. I really like the look and feel of the Xubuntu OS and would like to continue with it.

    Have I teased the mind of the wizard? Well mine is. Now I have learned so much more about something I had no idea I needed to know.:p:cool::eek::confused:
     
    VP9KS and wizardfromoz like this.
  11. Old Carpenter Guy

    Old Carpenter Guy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    10
    Hi Atanere...I did do the reinstall and I shared that information with the wizard. You mentioned a couple of other distro's a link would be great if you have the time. I do have built in WiFi and it works great. Pops up on the install and I can even hotspot it to my device which great btw. OH wait. I just rebooted and got access to the OS with the password I gave upon the install. Man I am loving these little gremlins. So much fun. But I am about 5 beers in, so things may get a little wobbly. ha. OS is up and WiFi is connected!! Should I dare try the Sudo ufw enable. Waht the hay why not. Here goes. 1 sec

    AS he pulls up the terminal frame. And begins to type...S...u...d...o... ufw.....enable and bada bing, bada boom...bob's your uncle. Firewall is enabled!!!!!!!! Now to the fine wizards and apprentices. I say thank you so very much....I might just have to find another dinosaur that needs a new lease on life. Give me that old laptop and let it LIVVVVVVVVVVE. Wee....obvious the beer is kicking in. :):);):cool::cool::p:D:D:D:D:D:D
     
    #31 Old Carpenter Guy, Nov 14, 2017 at 12:31 AM
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2017 at 12:40 AM
    VP9KS, atanere and wizardfromoz like this.
  12. wizardfromoz

    wizardfromoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    313
    I love it when a plan comes together :cool::D

    I want to try some of that beer, and I'll have my gasifier in fire engine red please.

    So can I summarise that we have Xubuntu 16.04.3 32-bit up and running now?

    I'll leave it to Stan as to whether we need a name change on the Topic (thread) as the Qiana is misleading for readers.

    And maybe you @Old Carpenter Guy may want to start a new thread in the same section when/if you need assistance hooking into your printer?

    See you soon and enjoy

    Wizard
     
  13. atanere

    atanere Moderator
    Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2017
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    386
    Well, I'm only on my first beer, but I'll catch up quickly! :D

    OK on the Xubuntu re-install... sounds like most or all of the issues may be resolved now. I'm a firm believer in, "If it ain't broke, don't fix it!" So I won't nudge you into anything else at this point. If at a later date you want to try another Linux on that machine, you might like Peppermint OS too (https://peppermintos.com). A number of distros are starting to abandon their 32-bit support though, so it may get harder in the future to keep it running with an up-to-date system.

    It probably will be good to open a new thread with whatever your next issue is... so it stays focused on Xubuntu as you move forward and let this "Qiana" thread come to its conclusion.

    Cheers!
     
    VP9KS and wizardfromoz like this.

Share This Page