Linux wifi cannot connect to public wifi.

dickyjicky24

I am a beginner of Linux system. I am using Ubuntu 18.04.3 with vmware player 15. I am facing a trouble about how to connect to public WiFi.

I am using bridge connection, which i must use it because i want vmware can stand alone as a PC on the network.
When i try to connect to public WiFi, my original PC (win 10) will show up a page that redirect to a terms page, after i accepted the terms, i can connect to internet.

But in the vmware (Ubuntu), i cannot reach any WiFi, it keeps showing up a box that tells me "Activation of network connection failed". When i reboot the system (Ubuntu), it shows that it connected, but a question mark (?) will appears on the WiFi icon. It seems that it cannot recognize the public WiFi.

i have already chose adapters which are using in my original PC (win 10). I am also tested in my home that tried to connect my private WiFi, and it works, no matter WiFi or Ethernet. But when I tried to connect to public WiFi, it fails.

I found that when Ubuntu told me it had connected WiFi, I could only get ipv6 rather than ipv4, and it seems like Ubuntu cannot recognize the DNS of that public WiFi.

how can i fix it?

dickyjicky24

Thanks for your reply, but i need to use bridge to must sure my computer(ubuntu) can stand alone in the network.

And i have already tried to connect wifi with bridge in my home which doesnt have to redirect to any web page, and it was successful.

and my problem is that i can not connect to dhcp and i cannot get any ip address form dhcp in the public wifi

i dont know how to fix this problem

TechnoJunky

Silver Member
Silver Supporter