Linux intallation

• Thread starter Lorenz Kyle Villegas
  • Start date
L

Lorenz Kyle Villegas

Good day! I'm new to Linux and I want to dual boot Linux with windows XP I already have a 20GB partition for the Linux to be installed at. Is it safe to install Linux if that 20 GB partition was recently used to store my temporary files or is that partition needs a format first? I have read this ubuntu desktop installation guide and I think its something about the "something else" option on "allocate drive space" step but as I say I'm new to Linux and as it says its for advance users. any help? Thanks in advance :)

When a system is installed, it over-writes whatever was there. (formats) So the files on that partition will not hinder installation.

"Allocate drive space" will ask where to install the system: use the entire drive or a partition on the drive. In this case, install the system on the 20GB drive.

Does the partition still hold temporary files or can the partition safely be wiped?

If you have no any other files apart from those temporary files in your partition, you can simply go for an installation without hassling with formatting any of your partitions on the drive, as the installer will format the partition automatically before installing the system. Seems like you're trying to install Ubuntu on your PC for dual boot, which means you won't find it necessarily difficult to do so since Ubuntu is a fairly nice distro for new Linux users.

Query : Are you installing Linux onto a PC or this a laptop?
2nd Query : Do you have a spare HDD?

Reason I asked is this, and speaking from experience, is that if you are fine with an install that will permanently change the way your drive boots, (you can't just remove linux if you don't like it or if something goes wrong, however unlikely, and your linux boot is screwed up) go with option 1. That is install linux directly onto your windows HDD.