Lenovo z500 problem installing elementary os

Kezar21

Reaction score
Credits
Hello people,
i am new in the game, i face a strange problem i own lenovo z500 with windows 10 ( with ssd).
i follow all the steps starting from usb creation, i went to boot from usb but lenovo gives me a loop in start ( showing lenovo logo restart lenovo logo again and again) in result i cant boot to start the installation. any idea?
i have already tried secure boot off legacy etc. ( usb is formated fat32 )

Hi @Kezar21, and welcome!

You didn't say what Linux distro you have on USB... but some of them will work with Secure Boot enabled and no need to go to Legacy mode. But important thing is that you got into your BIOS/UEFI settings.... while in there, you may can put your USB to be first in the Boot Order. That is one way.

Another way is while the computer begins to boot that you hit some special F-key to interrupt the boot and give you some options. One of the options is usually to enter the BIOS/UEFI setup, but you should have also a Boot Menu that will let you choose the USB if you select that.

I just want to double-check that you did the USB creation properly too. You must use some special software to put the Linux .iso file on the USB flash drive.... you cannot just copy it to the USB or else it will not be bootable. The special software for creating the bootable USB should also format the flash drive to FAT32, and it will erase anything else that is on the drive.

When you get it to boot your computer, it will be good to test it out in "live mode" and just check out Linux on the USB before installing. But you will want to be careful if/when you try to install to your hard drive. Be sure to save anything important on your Windows side before beginning in case things go wrong.

Cheers

Well I tried to make with unit bootable and with rufus but nothing works
I already got image for my win10 so I am safe :)