Lenovo X280 O/S

Willia

Reaction score
Credits
Looking for suggestions on what would be the best Linux O/S to run on this laptop. I've read mixed reviews of Ubuntu running on it. I'm leaning towards Fedora at the moment. Before I actually install any software, just looking to see if anyone more experienced can give a suggestion. I have little experience here, still learning the trade haha. Open to any other O/S as well such as Arch, Gentoo, or RedHat 7 etc.

Laptop specs: 8th Generation Intel® Core™ i7-8650U Processor with vPro (1.90GHz, up to 4.20GHz with Turbo Boost, 8MB Cache)● 12.5" FHD (1920 x 1080) IPS anti-glare multi-touch● 16 GB DDR4 2400MHz● 128 GB Solid State Drive, M.2 SATA● Intel Dual Band 8265 Wireless AC (2 x 2) & Bluetooth 4.1 with vPro● WWAN● Fibocom L850-GL 4G LTE-A Cat9

Thanks in advance for any guidance.

Hi @Willia and welcome to linux.org :)

Lenovos can be a little irksome with some Linux, but it is as much a matter of computer manufacturers tailoring their efforts towards a certain OS, which can provide impediments.

I don't know that Ubuntu is more of a problem than other Linux, but another of our Members, Stan (@atanere ) is more knowledgeable than I on Lenovos. He will swing by.

Your specs given (Ta - pron. "tar", Aussie for thanks) are enough to run any Linux known, and see it get up and fly.

How many free USB ports?

I have to go for my evening, but make friends with distrowatch.com for ideas, and their page hit rankings show hundreds of Linux, top 100 are likely best-supported, and many of them I have tried, including across the Families you have mentioned.

I have installed over 100 Linux, and typically run 60 - 80. So I won't give you a hard sell on just one, but will likely have an opinion or two :D:D

Cheers

Chris Turner
wizardfromoz ... that's DownUnder, Mate