learn vim

Divesh Dutt

Reaction score
Credits
Hi i am new to linux and i want to learn vim to code because i am from embedded background how could i do that and how can i learn low level drivers programming in linux?

Best way to learn vim is to look up an article on it with some basics, then try to use it as much as you can. The more you use it, the easier it'll get. Before you know it, you'll be hitting ESC in web forms by accident when you're done typing! :)

Check out https://www.linux.org/threads/using-vi-vim.4139/

Rob

In one word:
vimtutor

vimtutor is a tutorial that is installed alongside vim.
If you open a terminal and run vimtutor - you can learn some basic vim usage.

There is also the vim wikia site which is packed with all kinds of hints and tips:
http://vim.wikia.com/wiki/Vim_Tips_Wiki

There are vim tutorials posted all over the internet.
There are also some really good vim related books/ebooks available out there too:

Apress's book "Pro Vim" by Mark McDonnell is a complete tutorial that will take you from the basics right through to advanced usage of vim.

For customizing vim to suit your needs - check out Packt Publishing's book "Hacking Vim 7.2" by Kim Schulz. The book is quite old now - released in 2010, but it's still relevant. It has some great tips for customising vim.

Vim is extremely configurable, this book contains a bunch of tips/tricks that will allow you to change the look/feel of vim and add keybinds to allow you to quickly and easily perform common tasks.

My personal favourite is The Pragmatic Bookshelf's book "Practical Vim - Edit Text at the Speed of Thought" By Drew Neil. I own the first edition, but there is an updated 2nd edition available.

Many books start out with a gentle introduction to vim, how to install vim etc.