Just started Linux

einfomail

Reaction score
Credits
Hi,

I really do not know anything in Linux and want to learn it myself.

I just signed up Linux.org and I found that there are 25 Linux distributions.

I downloaded Ubuntu. However, being a beginner, which distribution should I download?

Being a beginner, I have some queries as follows:
  1. As I said, I don’t know anything in Linux, however, I installed it as Virtual Machine. Please let me know, how should I start step by step?
  2. If I learn to work on Ubuntu, will I be able to work on all Linux distributions?
  3. How do I know the comparisons and purpose of all Linus distributions?
Please guide me.

I’ll be thankful to all.

Regards
EinfoMail

I downloaded Ubuntu. However, being a beginner, which distribution should I download?

EinfoMail
Can't go wrong with Ubuntu so if it's installed and updated then give it a go and see how you like it.

Other recommendations are.

Linux Lite.

Linux Mint.

Peppermint 10 .

I got it. You mean to say, as a beginner in Linux, before Ubuntu, I should go for Linux Lite, Linux Mint and Peppermint 10. Am I right?

I got it. You mean to say, as a beginner in Linux, before Ubuntu, I should go for Linux Lite, Linux Mint and Peppermint 10. Am I right?
Not necessarily although most new Linux users migrating from a Windows environment find these Linux Distros easier to navigate through than Ubuntu.

Not necessarily although most new Linux users migrating from a Windows environment find these Linux Distros easier to navigate through than Ubuntu.

Okay. I got it.
For all three Distro, you suggested links for their Manual and Installation Guide. Pls provide me same links for Ubuntu too.

If I learn to work on Ubuntu, will I be able to work on all Linux distributions?
Well you will have a better understanding of how Ubuntu / Debian based distros work and so you should be able to understand them enough to install and remove software etc.