Issue with latest update

Garth

Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2020
Messages
48
Reaction score
6
Credits
302
Good evening, for a week now I have had an update pending and each time I try to install it says "could not apply changes, fix broken package first"
Any help would be appreciated, BTW im a linux novice, LOL
 


Brickwizard

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2021
Messages
2,655
Reaction score
1,757
Credits
19,876
oh you're in luck, just finished working on a laptop with broken packages,
open the terminal and enter sudo -apt --fix-missing update , and enter, put in password and enter, let the program run,
when it stops in the terminal enter sudo -apt update, enter and let it run [you may have to put in your password again]
when it's finished in the terminal, enter sudo -apt install -f and enter [again, it may ask for password]
when that has finished in the terminal, enter sudo -apt autoremove -y and enter
after this is complete, open update manager refresh and run it as normal
 
OP
G

Garth

Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2020
Messages
48
Reaction score
6
Credits
302
oh you're in luck, just finished working on a laptop with broken packages,
open the terminal and enter sudo -apt --fix-missing update , and enter, put in password and enter, let the program run,
when it stops in the terminal enter sudo -apt update, enter and let it run [you may have to put in your password again]
when it's finished in the terminal, enter sudo -apt install -f and enter [again, it may ask for password]
when that has finished in the terminal, enter sudo -apt autoremove -y and enter
after this is complete, open update manager refresh and run it as normal
Many thanks will try it now
 
OP
G

Garth

Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2020
Messages
48
Reaction score
6
Credits
302
oh you're in luck, just finished working on a laptop with broken packages,
open the terminal and enter sudo -apt --fix-missing update , and enter, put in password and enter, let the program run,
when it stops in the terminal enter sudo -apt update, enter and let it run [you may have to put in your password again]
when it's finished in the terminal, enter sudo -apt install -f and enter [again, it may ask for password]
when that has finished in the terminal, enter sudo -apt autoremove -y and enter
after this is complete, open update manager refresh and run it as normal
Didnt work, still saying the same
 

Brickwizard

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2021
Messages
2,655
Reaction score
1,757
Credits
19,876
does this command still exist : apt --fix-broken install
Don't know, never used it myself, but the routeen above fixed a dud laptop 2 hrs ago. the OP could always try it and see
 

captain-sensible

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2019
Messages
2,855
Reaction score
1,931
Credits
17,653
ok re-try your own preferred way of updating and see what output you get
 
OP
G

Garth

Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2020
Messages
48
Reaction score
6
Credits
302

Attachments

  • Screenshot from 2022-05-08 20-43-49.png
    Screenshot from 2022-05-08 20-43-49.png
    172.8 KB · Views: 51

captain-sensible

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2019
Messages
2,855
Reaction score
1,931
Credits
17,653
ok last go try this then after re try update.

Code:
 sudo dpkg --configure -a

if that doesn't work , debian users will know better than i, but from the update manager gui , you should be able to see teh broken ones @Brickwizard ? using some tab selection , i've forgotten how but , somehow see the broken ones and remove them then select to remove the broken
 
OP
G

Garth

Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2020
Messages
48
Reaction score
6
Credits
302
ok last go try this then after re try update.

Code:
 sudo dpkg --configure -a

if that doesn't work , debian users will know better than i, but from the update manager gui , you should be able to see teh broken ones @Brickwizard ? using some tab selection , i've forgotten how but , somehow see the broken ones and remove them then select to remove the broken
Nothing. thanks for trying
 

captain-sensible

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2019
Messages
2,855
Reaction score
1,931
Credits
17,653
have you got a reload option on your update manager ? is it synaptic ? whats your O.S
 

captain-sensible

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2019
Messages
2,855
Reaction score
1,931
Credits
17,653
ok click reload , then at top of menu select ,edit option from menu of update manager and i think there should be a "fix broken" option in edit
 
$100 Digital Ocean Credit
Get a free VM to test out Linux!

Linux.org Hosting Donations
Consider making a donation

Members online


Latest posts

Top