Intro and prolly a dumb question

wildkommander614

Reaction score
Credits
Hows it going everyone,
I'm enrolled in an intro Linux class at college and just at the beginning of my course. I am learning about making different changes to the environment and the difference between global and user changes, etc.

I have a super basic question, sorry if its retarded but I poked around everywhere and couldn't find the answer.
If for example i type the following command alias X=Y, where is this saved? I am just wanting to better understand the system, i searched everywhere. ubunutu 20.04.2 is what I am using.

Thanks

This sounds like a homework question!

@KGIII amirit? lol

Now. This is actually an interesting question and I'm not completely sure I have the answer (even though I've been a Linux engineer for around 25 years!)

So, the first thing I must ask is are you talking about where persistent aliases are stored, or temp / active aliases?

The reason I ask is you can set an alias (or environment variables) that are temporary or you can set them permanent. Just typing 'alias x=y' is a temporary alias. If you want to save it, you probably want to put the alias in your ~/.bash_profile. Though some distros like it to be put in other places, but .bash_profile will pretty much ensure it exists when you login. (if you're using bash shell)

That said, there are other places too and I wont' go through all of them because well. I'm a Redhat guy and that's what I generally know. (even though they can get funky at times too)

Now, an alias and an environment variable are sort of the same and different at the same time. If I just type "export myvar="KGIII is crazy!" and then type echo $myvar. That is stored in memory, but it won't be persistent. To make it persistent, I need to put that export command in my~/.bash_profile so it gets called everytime I login and bash is made my shell.