Installing Telegram on Ubuntu 17.04 (32bit)

DoiKham2561

New Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2018
Messages
10
Reaction score
7
Credits
0
Hello, Linux folks!

I've been using Ubuntu for several years at the office but have primarily been using it for web-based things, typing up work reports, etc. It's only in recent months I've been trying to learn how to use the command line, move beyond Ubuntu Software center, and so on.

Today, I was trying to install Telegram on my Ubuntu 17.04 (32bit) machine, but it looks like I've run into a few problems:

[email protected]:~$ sudo apt-get install telegram-desktop
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
The following packages were automatically installed and are no longer required:
linux-headers-4.10.0-19 linux-headers-4.10.0-19-generic linux-headers-4.10.0-22 linux-headers-4.10.0-22-generic linux-headers-4.10.0-24
linux-headers-4.10.0-24-generic linux-headers-4.10.0-26 linux-headers-4.10.0-26-generic linux-headers-4.10.0-28
linux-headers-4.10.0-28-generic linux-headers-4.10.0-30 linux-headers-4.10.0-30-generic linux-headers-4.10.0-32
linux-headers-4.10.0-32-generic linux-headers-4.10.0-33 linux-headers-4.10.0-33-generic linux-headers-4.10.0-35
linux-headers-4.10.0-35-generic linux-headers-4.10.0-37 linux-headers-4.10.0-37-generic linux-headers-4.10.0-38
linux-headers-4.10.0-38-generic linux-image-4.10.0-19-generic linux-image-4.10.0-22-generic linux-image-4.10.0-24-generic
linux-image-4.10.0-26-generic linux-image-4.10.0-28-generic linux-image-4.10.0-30-generic linux-image-4.10.0-32-generic
linux-image-4.10.0-33-generic linux-image-4.10.0-35-generic linux-image-4.10.0-37-generic linux-image-4.10.0-38-generic
linux-image-extra-4.10.0-19-generic linux-image-extra-4.10.0-22-generic linux-image-extra-4.10.0-24-generic
linux-image-extra-4.10.0-26-generic linux-image-extra-4.10.0-28-generic linux-image-extra-4.10.0-30-generic
linux-image-extra-4.10.0-32-generic linux-image-extra-4.10.0-33-generic linux-image-extra-4.10.0-35-generic
linux-image-extra-4.10.0-37-generic linux-image-extra-4.10.0-38-generic
Use 'sudo apt autoremove' to remove them.
The following additional packages will be installed:
libminizip1 libwebpdemux2 qt5-image-formats-plugins
The following NEW packages will be installed:
libminizip1 libwebpdemux2 qt5-image-formats-plugins telegram-desktop
0 upgraded, 4 newly installed, 0 to remove and 97 not upgraded.
Need to get 15.8 MB/15.8 MB of archives.
After this operation, 26.3 MB of additional disk space will be used.
Do you want to continue? [Y/n] Y
Err:1 http://th.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu zesty/main i386 libwebpdemux2 i386 0.5.2-1
404 Not Found
Err:2 http://th.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu zesty/universe i386 qt5-image-formats-plugins i386 5.7.1~20161021-2build1~1
404 Not Found
Err:3 http://th.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu zesty-updates/universe i386 telegram-desktop i386 1.0.29-1ubuntu1.17.04.1
404 Not Found
E: Failed to fetch http://th.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/pool/main/libw/libwebp/libwebpdemux2_0.5.2-1_i386.deb 404 Not Found
E: Failed to fetch http://th.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu...ats-plugins_5.7.1~20161021-2build1~1_i386.deb 404 Not Found
E: Failed to fetch http://th.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu...gram-desktop_1.0.29-1ubuntu1.17.04.1_i386.deb 404 Not Found
E: Unable to fetch some archives, maybe run apt-get update or try with --fix-missing?

I did try running the --fix-missing command but didn't get any results:

[email protected]:~$ sudo apt-get install --fix-missing
[sudo] password for DoiKham2561:
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
The following packages were automatically installed and are no longer required:
linux-headers-4.10.0-19 linux-headers-4.10.0-19-generic linux-headers-4.10.0-22 linux-headers-4.10.0-22-generic linux-headers-4.10.0-24
linux-headers-4.10.0-24-generic linux-headers-4.10.0-26 linux-headers-4.10.0-26-generic linux-headers-4.10.0-28
linux-headers-4.10.0-28-generic linux-headers-4.10.0-30 linux-headers-4.10.0-30-generic linux-headers-4.10.0-32
linux-headers-4.10.0-32-generic linux-headers-4.10.0-33 linux-headers-4.10.0-33-generic linux-headers-4.10.0-35
linux-headers-4.10.0-35-generic linux-headers-4.10.0-37 linux-headers-4.10.0-37-generic linux-headers-4.10.0-38
linux-headers-4.10.0-38-generic linux-image-4.10.0-19-generic linux-image-4.10.0-22-generic linux-image-4.10.0-24-generic
linux-image-4.10.0-26-generic linux-image-4.10.0-28-generic linux-image-4.10.0-30-generic linux-image-4.10.0-32-generic
linux-image-4.10.0-33-generic linux-image-4.10.0-35-generic linux-image-4.10.0-37-generic linux-image-4.10.0-38-generic
linux-image-extra-4.10.0-19-generic linux-image-extra-4.10.0-22-generic linux-image-extra-4.10.0-24-generic
linux-image-extra-4.10.0-26-generic linux-image-extra-4.10.0-28-generic linux-image-extra-4.10.0-30-generic
linux-image-extra-4.10.0-32-generic linux-image-extra-4.10.0-33-generic linux-image-extra-4.10.0-35-generic
linux-image-extra-4.10.0-37-generic linux-image-extra-4.10.0-38-generic
Use 'sudo apt autoremove' to remove them.
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 97 not upgraded.

Naturally, I ran apt-get update several times as well without any change in my ability to install Telegram.

Being a relative newbie here, I started searching around but haven't turned up much just yet on how to resolve this moving forward.

Could anyone provide some advice or point me in the right direction?

Thanks!

DoiKham2561
 


Condobloke

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
4,514
Reaction score
3,941
Credits
25,363
G'day DoiKham2561, and Welcome to Linux.org

This could well be a case of the blind preaching to the initiated........however......

If this were my predicament, I would remove anything that i had already installed, and follow the instructions/terminal commands on THIS PAGE

In my own case, I use TIMESHIFT which would allow me to restore my pc to an earlier time (just to avoid any possible gremlins)

((timeshift is the simplest of programs to install and use......and saves many hours of stress/panic etc etc))

Let us know if you encounter any joy.... :)

Edit to Add:....I have just accessed the software manager on my LM 18.3 and Telegram is shown there.......surely ubuntu 17.04 has similar ?....Much easier and safer to install from the software managers repository if it is present there.
 

atanere

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2017
Messages
2,627
Reaction score
2,766
Credits
31
Hi @DoiKham2561, and welcome to the site? Have you realized yet that your Ubuntu 17.04 has reached end-of-life? It was only 6 days ago, but that is probably keeping you from getting updates from Ubuntu. They have finally re-released 17.10 after a serious bug it had, but that one is also a short-term release, or you could "upgrade" to the older 16.04 which is long term release (LTS). Coming up in April, version 18.04 will be a LTS version that you should eventually shoot for.

Cheers
 

atanere

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2017
Messages
2,627
Reaction score
2,766
Credits
31
Hmmm, digging a little deeper, I am also afraid that you will not be able to upgrade 17.04 to anything directly now that it has expired... I think you needed to upgrade before. If this is right, you will have to do a fresh install of 16.04 or 17.10... and then you will be able to upgrade either of those to 18.04, if you upgrade shortly after its release. (17.10 expires in July, and then you would not be able to upgrade it either).

FYI, the 17.10 version was the first to get rid of the Unity desktop and switch to Gnome 3 shell. It starts off looking kind of similar, with the icon launchers on the left edge... but you may notice a number of differences from Unity.

And, more FYI, Ubuntu is dropping 32-bit support for the desktop versions... 17.10 does not have a 32-bit version. I'm just full of fun news tonight.... sorry! :eek: Hopefully you actually have a 64-bit CPU and will be able to run the 64-bit Ubuntu's if that stays your preference, but other distros do still support 32-bit. If you want to know what you have, open a terminal and enter this command:
Code:
lscpu | grep op-mode
(That's LSCPU, but needs to be all lower case. If the response is 32-bit only, then it is a 32-bit CPU. Otherwise it will report both 32-bit, 64-bit.)

Cheers
 
OP
D

DoiKham2561

New Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2018
Messages
10
Reaction score
7
Credits
0
G'day DoiKham2561, and Welcome to Linux.org

This could well be a case of the blind preaching to the initiated........however......

If this were my predicament, I would remove anything that i had already installed, and follow the instructions/terminal commands on THIS PAGE

In my own case, I use TIMESHIFT which would allow me to restore my pc to an earlier time (just to avoid any possible gremlins)

((timeshift is the simplest of programs to install and use......and saves many hours of stress/panic etc etc))

Let us know if you encounter any joy.... :)

Edit to Add:....I have just accessed the software manager on my LM 18.3 and Telegram is shown there.......surely ubuntu 17.04 has similar ?....Much easier and safer to install from the software managers repository if it is present there.

Thanks for the recommendation for Timeshift. Will definitely check it out.

The page you recommended seems to be working. In the process of installing now.

As to using the software manager, it is in there, but it wouldn't install properly so I moved over to the terminal instead (and to build my skills in that regard too).
 
OP
D

DoiKham2561

New Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2018
Messages
10
Reaction score
7
Credits
0
Hmmm, digging a little deeper, I am also afraid that you will not be able to upgrade 17.04 to anything directly now that it has expired... I think you needed to upgrade before. If this is right, you will have to do a fresh install of 16.04 or 17.10... and then you will be able to upgrade either of those to 18.04, if you upgrade shortly after its release. (17.10 expires in July, and then you would not be able to upgrade it either).

FYI, the 17.10 version was the first to get rid of the Unity desktop and switch to Gnome 3 shell. It starts off looking kind of similar, with the icon launchers on the left edge... but you may notice a number of differences from Unity.

And, more FYI, Ubuntu is dropping 32-bit support for the desktop versions... 17.10 does not have a 32-bit version. I'm just full of fun news tonight.... sorry! :eek: Hopefully you actually have a 64-bit CPU and will be able to run the 64-bit Ubuntu's if that stays your preference, but other distros do still support 32-bit. If you want to know what you have, open a terminal and enter this command:
Code:
lscpu | grep op-mode
(That's LSCPU, but needs to be all lower case. If the response is 32-bit only, then it is a 32-bit CPU. Otherwise it will report both 32-bit, 64-bit.)

Cheers

When I was issued this machine, I was told that it was 32-bit only. Anyway, typed in your recommended code (LSCPU) and got this back:

Code:
Architecture:          i686
CPU op-mode(s):        32-bit, 64-bit
Byte Order:            Little Endian
CPU(s):                2
On-line CPU(s) list:   0,1
Thread(s) per core:    1
Core(s) per socket:    2
Socket(s):             1
Vendor ID:             AuthenticAMD
CPU family:            18
Model:                 1
Model name:            AMD E2-3000M APU with Radeon(tm) HD Graphics
Stepping:              0
CPU MHz:               1800.000
CPU max MHz:           1800.0000
CPU min MHz:           800.0000
BogoMIPS:              3593.45
Virtualization:        AMD-V
L1d cache:             64K
L1i cache:             64K
L2 cache:              512K
Flags:                 fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt pdpe1gb rdtscp lm 3dnowext 3dnow constant_tsc rep_good nonstop_tsc extd_apicid aperfmperf pni monitor cx16 popcnt lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy abm sse4a misalignsse 3dnowprefetch osvw ibs skinit wdt cpb hw_pstate vmmcall arat npt lbrv svm_lock nrip_save pausefilter

I assume this means that the CPU can do both?

As to no future 32-bit support for Ubuntu, are there any similar distros (like Mint) that you'd recommend that still have support?

Thanks for all your help and input!
 

atanere

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2017
Messages
2,627
Reaction score
2,766
Credits
31
When I was issued this machine, I was told that it was 32-bit only. Anyway, typed in your recommended code (LSCPU) and got this back:

Code:
Architecture:          i686
CPU op-mode(s):        32-bit, 64-bit
Byte Order:            Little Endian
CPU(s):                2
On-line CPU(s) list:   0,1
Thread(s) per core:    1
Core(s) per socket:    2
Socket(s):             1
Vendor ID:             AuthenticAMD
CPU family:            18
Model:                 1
Model name:            AMD E2-3000M APU with Radeon(tm) HD Graphics
Stepping:              0
CPU MHz:               1800.000
CPU max MHz:           1800.0000
CPU min MHz:           800.0000
BogoMIPS:              3593.45
Virtualization:        AMD-V
L1d cache:             64K
L1i cache:             64K
L2 cache:              512K
Flags:                 fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt pdpe1gb rdtscp lm 3dnowext 3dnow constant_tsc rep_good nonstop_tsc extd_apicid aperfmperf pni monitor cx16 popcnt lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy abm sse4a misalignsse 3dnowprefetch osvw ibs skinit wdt cpb hw_pstate vmmcall arat npt lbrv svm_lock nrip_save pausefilter

I assume this means that the CPU can do both?

As to no future 32-bit support for Ubuntu, are there any similar distros (like Mint) that you'd recommend that still have support?

Thanks for all your help and input!

Exactly... it supports both. People are often confused switching over to Linux because their Windows is a 32-bit version (because it was cheaper for the OEM's to install that). Since you have a 64-bit CPU, you should use a 64-bit Linux distro too.... there is rarely a good reason to stay with 32-bit. But Mint, and some others, do have 32-bit versions for now.

I'm surprised the Telegram program is installing. Is it working?
 

Condobloke

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
4,514
Reaction score
3,941
Credits
25,363
I can thoroughly recommend Linux Mint 18.3

Be sure to verify your download

How to do that HERE
 

atanere

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2017
Messages
2,627
Reaction score
2,766
Credits
31
Oops!!! I think I am wrong (not the first time!) Where your lscpu says "architecture" is i686... I think you are right and that is 32-bit. Apologies!
 
OP
D

DoiKham2561

New Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2018
Messages
10
Reaction score
7
Credits
0
Exactly... it supports both. People are often confused switching over to Linux because their Windows is a 32-bit version (because it was cheaper for the OEM's to install that). Since you have a 64-bit CPU, you should use a 64-bit Linux distro too.... there is rarely a good reason to stay with 32-bit. But Mint, and some others, do have 32-bit versions for now.

I'm surprised the Telegram program is installing. Is it working?

It went through the whole installation procedure without any errors. When I went to look for the program in both the "search your computer" section as well as the "Ubuntu Software" center, I can't find it.

Help???
 

Condobloke

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
4,514
Reaction score
3,941
Credits
25,363
I'll second the call for more beer......I just read HERE and if I wasnt confused before ....I sure as hell am now !!!

Happy reading.

Hopefully Wizardfromoz will throw his schooners worth in here shortly !
 
OP
D

DoiKham2561

New Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2018
Messages
10
Reaction score
7
Credits
0
Hmmmm, this article indicates that you are using a 64-bit version of Ubuntu right now. You can follow their directions to check from the GUI too and see what that tells you. I'm a bit confused though... need more beer! :confused::D:D

Nope. GUI thing says I'm also running 32-bit version. =/

Can't get another system right now but can switch over to Mint or the like if necessary.

Any pointers on getting Telegram up and running now that it might be theoretically installed? Any way to launch it from the Terminal after following Condobloke's instructions above?
 
OP
D

DoiKham2561

New Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2018
Messages
10
Reaction score
7
Credits
0
I'll second the call for more beer......I just read HERE and if I wasnt confused before ....I sure as hell am now !!!

Happy reading.

Hopefully Wizardfromoz will throw his schooners worth in here shortly !

Don't yet know who Wizardfromoz is, but I hope to learn soon. Hehehe.

As for the beer, folks, I'd love to, but it's not even 11AM here.
 

atanere

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2017
Messages
2,627
Reaction score
2,766
Credits
31
I definitely need to check out the definition of "i686" better. I'm finding that your computer is a laptop/notebook... and lscpu gave your CPU model name as AMD E2-3000M. Here is a spec sheet on that CPU... qualifies as AMD64 and has 64-bit data width.

Whenever you decide to download some new distro... Ubuntu, Mint, or whatever.... I would certainly try to install the 64-bit version first. If your CPU won't accept that, it will fail to boot the DVD/USB in live mode and tell you that the CPU is incompatible.
 
OP
D

DoiKham2561

New Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2018
Messages
10
Reaction score
7
Credits
0
I definitely need to check out the definition of "i686" better. I'm finding that your computer is a laptop/notebook... and lscpu gave your CPU model name as AMD E2-3000M. Here is a spec sheet on that CPU... qualifies as AMD64 and has 64-bit data width.

Whenever you decide to download some new distro... Ubuntu, Mint, or whatever.... I would certainly try to install the 64-bit version first. If your CPU won't accept that, it will fail to boot the DVD/USB in live mode and tell you that the CPU is incompatible.

You guys are such experts. Thanks for all the help. Will definitely try to do 64-bit when I next upload. Need to find my external HDD to do one more back-up before I wipe the thing and reinstall anything though.
 

atanere

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2017
Messages
2,627
Reaction score
2,766
Credits
31
Nope. GUI thing says I'm also running 32-bit version. =/

Can't get another system right now but can switch over to Mint or the like if necessary.

Any pointers on getting Telegram up and running now that it might be theoretically installed? Any way to launch it from the Terminal after following Condobloke's instructions above?

Definitely try to open a terminal and just enter:
Code:
telegram
And see what happens! :D
 

Condobloke

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
4,514
Reaction score
3,941
Credits
25,363
$100 Digital Ocean Credit
Get a free VM to test out Linux!

Members online


Top