Installing Brother printer driver on Endless OS, Error: unable to access the dpkg database directory /var/lib/dpkg

TakeIt

Reaction score
Credits
Hi,

I've been trying to use the linux-brprinter-installer-2.2.3-1 MFC-J285DW from the Brother web site to no effect receiving the above error. I'm new to Linux and trying to learn. What info do I need to share with y'all to get this problem solved?

Thanks

G'day @TakeIt and welcome to linux.org :)

I am moving this to Hardware, where you might get a better chance of an answer.

Good luck

Chris Turner
wizardfromoz

Last edited:
Looks like those drivers are i386 you might have to add the 32 architecture first
Code:
sudo dpkg --add-architecture i386
then use gdebi to install it if gdebi is not installed
Code:
sudo apt install gdebi

Hey, you could be getting this error. lol

1630341555875.png

Hey thanks for the replies,

so far, no luck. When I tried adding the 32 architecture I get this error:

dpkg: error: unable to create new file '/var/lib/dpkg/arch-new': Read-only file system

This error message is essentially the same error I get when installing the printer driver. So, tried installing gdebi & got this:

Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree... Done
W: Not using locking for read only lock file /var/lib/dpkg/lock-frontend
W: Not using locking for read only lock file /var/lib/dpkg/lock
E: Unable to locate package gdebi

brickwizard - that is the driver I'm trying to install
dc - in Settings the computer is recognizing that the printer is there but when I try to print I get nothing -- no error msg, printer doesn't turn on, nothing.

I have not had problems installing printers before, so sorry I am out of ideas [except for a silly one] have you set & enabled the print as preferred in the printer local host ?

Hey thanks for the replies,

so far, no luck. When I tried adding the 32 architecture I get this error:

dpkg: error: unable to create new file '/var/lib/dpkg/arch-new': Read-only file system