Purchase Linux CDs / DVDs / Flash Drives at OSDisc.com

Welcome to Our Community

While Linux.org has been around for a while, we recently changed management and had to purge most of the content (including users). If you signed up before April 23rd, 2017 please sign up again. Thanks!

Increasing /opt within Fedora 28

Discussion in 'General Linux' started by Sandylex, May 13, 2018.

  1. Sandylex

    Sandylex New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    10
    I need 27.32GB to install an application in /opt but disc space available is 8.57: a bit of a discrepancy! Unfortunately (?) Fedora 28 uses lvm2 so 'gparted' isn't much good. NB: Fedora 28 is set up in a VirtualBox within an iMac host running macOS Sierra with the following 'virtual size' setting for the Fedora27.vdi of 109.41GB and actual size of 77.93GB.
    Using lvdisplay can't find LV Path /dev/fedora_localhost/opt just swap, home and root.
    However here's the clue: "Assuming you have /opt on your root partition the available space is exactly the same as available free space on your root partition".
    sudo lvextend -l +100%FREE /dev/fedora_localhost-live/root
    New size (12800 extents) matches existing size (12800 extents).
    [15/05/2018] Now if only I can get this onto a cd!
    sudo dnf install blivet-gui //use command: blivet-gui to interface

    To make the file system recognize the increased volume size, you need to "expand" an existing file system itself. Depending on which file system you are using, there are different tools to expand an existing filesystem. For example, use resize2fs for EXT2/EXT3/EXT4, xfs_growfs for XFS, btrfs for Btrfs, etc.


     
    #1 Sandylex, May 13, 2018
    Last edited: May 15, 2018
    wizardfromoz likes this.
  2. wizardfromoz

    wizardfromoz Super Moderator
    Staff Member Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    1,547
    Likes Received:
    1,697
    Now that's what I like to see, a fearless Senior (being a Senior myself) :p

    (Wizard appears in a puff of smoke, momentarily loses balance with arthritic knees and makes it look like a new dance step)

    Welcome to linux.org @Sandylex , hope you enjoy your time here ;). I am from DownUnder, so you'll see me when the sun is in the right quarter.

    I run Fedora 28 WS but not with LVM (2), and I have only just begun dabbling in VirtualBox, installing Arch as a Guest under the Host of SwagArch, so again, not a lot of background.

    Would this article here be of assistance? It is May 2017, so recent enough, deals with CentOS but looks adaptable, albeit I note the one answer given has not received a vote, nor a response.

    I will watch with interest to see if your endeavours are fruitful.

    Cheers and enjoy your Linux

    Chris Turner
    wizardfromoz
     
    Rob and atanere like this.
  3. Sandylex

    Sandylex New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    10
    Thanks for your reply 'WOO' (Wizard of Oz) I've decided to use "VBoxManage" in the following way:
    VboxManage modifyhd “Fedora 27.vdi” - -resize 150000
    To increase the overall size of the vdi to 150GB; awkward because it means I'm scraping the barrel with the host machine of 750GB capacity i.e. approaching only 10% left.
    After using that command from the terminal, in the 'box' labelled "Fedora 27", i've then went into "gparted" and resized, so that VirtualBox recognises the new size. Whether this will allow the Xilinx application to install, it doesn't; back to the drawing board!
    PS I'm sure Linux is harder to understand than you!
     
    #3 Sandylex, May 14, 2018
    Last edited: May 14, 2018
    wizardfromoz and atanere like this.
  4. wizardfromoz

    wizardfromoz Super Moderator
    Staff Member Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    1,547
    Likes Received:
    1,697
    Better make that 'WFO' Mate, I think Wizard of Oz is already taken? :D

    Just a constructive criticism (I don't do the destructive type), when you edit your Post (other than a typo), it's probably a good idea to flag the edited material, eg
    to "EDITED - However..."

    Then people whom have read the original can keep up to speed. :p

    I was going to ask about your HDD size, thanks for offering it.

    I'll keep my eyes open for anything useful to you, and good luck.

    Cheers

    Wizard
     
    atanere likes this.
  5. Sandylex

    Sandylex New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    10
     
  6. Sandylex

    Sandylex New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    10
    Thanks 'woo' the last thing I tried was running the "gnome partition editor" (gparted) from disc on cdrom and running terminal commands from there, but unfortunately no difference: haven't given up quite yet!
     
    atanere and wizardfromoz like this.
  7. atanere

    atanere Moderator
    Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,699
    Likes Received:
    1,795
    At this point, don't you need to run a partition manager from within Fedora/VirtualBox to create the /opt partiton?
     
  8. Sandylex

    Sandylex New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    10
    It's already there, 'atanere', as can be seen by using the terminal window, in Fedora 28, which is running in the virtualBox.
     
  9. atanere

    atanere Moderator
    Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,699
    Likes Received:
    1,795
    Okay, I'm not at all familiar with LVM. But I take it that you have extended the size of the .vdi successfully now, right? And that now you need to create (or extend) a /opt partition that can contain the large new app that you want to install, correct? Again, I'm in over my head here, so please forgive me if I'm not understanding the situation correctly.

    A little poking around the web found this YouTube video that seems to go through the processes you are doing using LVM and VirtualBox, so I wonder if it might help (it's using Mint instead of Fedora, but says the steps should work the same). The video cites and heavily uses information from this How-To Geek's article that you might rather read than watch the video. It seems that most of the disk management is done from the command line with special LVM tools, and the article/video give some good examples.

    Another How-To Geek article describes using a LVM GUI tool instead of the command line. Although the article is geared towards an Ubuntu user, it shows that in can be installed in rpm systems also, like Fedora/CentOS. Or, or more CLI adventures, this RedHat documentation on LVM may help steer you in the right direction.

    Cheers
     
  10. Sandylex

    Sandylex New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    10
     
  11. Sandylex

    Sandylex New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    10
    Cracked it 'wfo' aka Chris using:
    resize2fs /dev/fedora_localhost-live/root
    essentially /opt is 'hiding' inside /root! See attached 'png' file showing there will now be enough space, magic.
     

    Attached Files:

    atanere likes this.
  12. Sandylex

    Sandylex New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    10
     
  13. Sandylex

    Sandylex New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    10
    Thanks for the reply, 'atanere' but I've solved it with the command
    resize2fs /dev/fedora_localhost-live/root from the terminal pane/window. Essentially as in my reply to the "Wizard from Oz", /opt is 'hiding' inside /root, thanks again for the input.
     
    atanere likes this.
  14. atanere

    atanere Moderator
    Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,699
    Likes Received:
    1,795
    Great! Well done!

    Cheers
     
  15. Sandylex

    Sandylex New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    10
     

    Attached Files:

    atanere likes this.
  16. Sandylex

    Sandylex New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    10
    PS check out the attached image, the same installation on a Windows 10 VM (virtual machine) {also running on 4GB of RAM} took over 5 hours!
     
    atanere and wizardfromoz like this.
  17. wizardfromoz

    wizardfromoz Super Moderator
    Staff Member Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    1,547
    Likes Received:
    1,697
    That's wonderful news :D! I love it when they solve it themselves, don't you, Stan? (@atanere )

    Just a heads up "Sandy" - there's no need to click Reply unless you wish to address or quote a passage of textual comment, otherwise we are simply seeing our own input already provided, and often we need to expand the material only to see there is no new content from you :D

    Easier is as I show below, done by blocking a bit of text, "Reply" smart tip appears at right, click it and the content is inserted in your current reply pane with its authors name.

    Voila ;)

    We also have an autocomplete function handy for Members with long names, just start to type in @wizard and you will get choices, click or double click and the name appears with a space following. That also notifies us when we log in to the site that someone has mentioned us.

    But you'll get the hang of it, just as you have got the hang of the above issue :p, and again, I am really happy for you.

    Enjoy your Linux (I'm off for more coffee, zero degrees celsius here... bbrrrrr)

    Wizard
     
    atanere and Rob like this.

Share This Page