I still don’t understand what’s Linux for, can anyone explain?

Glitched

Reaction score
Credits
I’m very new to Linux and I have searched online for what Linux is. But the matter is I still don’t understand! Please explain

welcome not tried very hard then. if you search "what is linux" it returnd many pages of results

in short "LINUX" is the Kernal operating system around which have been developed over 1,000 diffrent distribution to run everything from your smart coffee maker, your car, your airliner, rour oil tankers, the space station, smart military hardware, and many others, 500 or so of thease distributions are for servers and desktops/laptops,

Last edited:
As Brickwizard says, strictly speaking "Linux" is just the kernel.....the part which enables your hardware - mobo, RAM, hard drive, GPU, etc - and your software - the OS itself plus whatever apps/programs you choose to run - to 'talk' to each other, and communicate between themselves......optimizing/allocating usage of resources, and ensuring everything runs as smoothly as possible.

The Linux OS itself is largely composed of utilities/programs/apps that were developed by the GNU Project back during the late 80s/early 90s. The one thing they were never able to get working properly was a kernel.....without which everything else was useless. Along came Linus Torvalds, a young Finn who developed the very first Linux kernel in 1991. It was a perfect fit with the GNU Project's "almost" OS.....and, technically speaking, GNU/Linux was born.

It's only common usage over many years that's shortened that to just "Linux". A fact about which the founder of the GNU Project, Richard Stallman, has never been very happy!

Mike. :p

Last edited:
welcome not tried very hard then. if you search "what is linux" it returnd many pages of results