How to troubleshoot a TI launchpad not running under Linux?

jiguanhua

Reaction score
Credits
Hi to all, so embarrassed, I have no experience with microcontrollers , except for a friend who starts from me and then gives up projects halfway through. I have hardware and code, want to finish this project, but I forgot to do most of the things, two years ago and I reinstall the operating system s+ http://www.kynix.com/Detail/251694/SYSTEME S+.html, so I don't set my development environment. I don't know C, but I can program in other languages.

My code does not do anything when I try to run it. To check if the microcontroller is communicating with the computer properly, I looked around for tutorials of . This is what I found:

1. I should start mspdebug: Installing MSPGCC4 and MSPDEBUG on Kubuntu 10.04
    . I don't even know what I should expect to happen, but what I get is an error.
rumtscho@simak:~/Projects/sovfor$ sudo mspdebug -d /dev/ttyACM0 uif
[sudo] password for rumtscho:
MSPDebug version 0.19 - debugging tool for MSP430 MCUs
Copyright (C) 2009-2012 Daniel Beer <[email protected]>
This is free software; see the source for copying conditions. There is NO
warranty; not even for MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.

Trying to open UIF on /dev/ttyACM0...
Initializing FET...
uif: read error: Connection timed out
fet: open failed
Trying again...
Initializing FET...
uif: read error: Connection timed out
fet: open failed.

2. I should run a minimal program. I got to the make step, included <msp430.h>instead of because the compiler suggested it. Then I got another error: