How to make friends online

tinfoil-hat

Reaction score
Credits
Hi, in early internet days, I found it very easy to find friends online. But now everyone sits in his / her own bubble. It sounds like a trivial question. But I feel like I am talking to bots, which "ghost" very quickly away.

Is there any one else that feels this way?

No. Because there is plenty of anti-spiritual motivation combined with a small amount of desire to learn. There are repeated vain attempts to educate, to understand and to be patient. Things that I'm not very good with at all in real life.

I discovered early on that social networking in the manner of F______k wasn't for me. It doesn't mean I enjoy being in an impersonal posting forum. One has to walk the thin line being in a technical forum like this one. Have to remain as neutral as possible although it could be hard. Nothing wrong with demonstrating a human side but not too much being gullible or vulnerable.

I'm sorry I'm bored right now that I'm writing something close to poetry.

Todays internet is more focused, more technical, more about information - Linux forums are mainly to share information.

I only use the internet as 'social' when talking about things that I'm interested in; Linux Forums, BSD Forums, Kickbiking Groups on FB, Harmonica Forums, etc.

When your member name is "Tinfoil Hat", it suggests to me that you may need to get out more. Do more things that involve real people. Volunteer. Take classes. TEACH classes. Get a hobby that involves hands-on, face-to-face interactions with live persons. Bonus if it tends to attract people with the gender of your interest. Offer a "Beginning Computers" or "Linux for Women" workshop at the library or community center. Make it really good.