How to know if Ubuntu Server 16.04 is updated/upgraded

BigToeHunt

Reaction score
Credits
After running apt update and upgrade, the console displays that 3 packages can be upgraded/updated.

I'm pretty new to this so I'm not sure if that means that the updates/upgrades were successful or if the command only checked for me if packages can be updated/upgraded.

Is there a way to know if everything is up to date? Some kind of comparison of versions or something to that effect?

Attached is what is displayed when the command is run:

Screen Shot 2019-08-11 at 10.53.04 PM.png

The three listed are the upgradable packages but I have no idea how to know if they were updated or just listed as updatable. Is there a command needed to complete the updating?

sudo apt list --upgradable shows you what isn't up to date. You need to first run 'sudo apt-get update' to download all the latest updates (just the updatable list not the updates themselves). Then run 'sudo apt-get upgrade' to download and install those updates. Afterwards, if you run 'sudo apt list --upgradable', it shouldn't return any package names.

Last edited:
Those are kernel packages... I wonder if the server isn't configured to restrict automatic kernel updates? Seems like that might be a conservative setting to protect the server from unexpected problems.

Cheers

sudo apt list --upgradable shows you what isn't up to date. You need to first run 'sudo apt-get update' to download all the latest updates (just the updatable list not the updates themselves). Then run 'sudo apt-get upgrade' to download and install those updates. Afterwards, if you run 'sudo apt list --upgradable', it shouldn't return any package names.