How to install AMD drivers in PureOS?

marceldur

Reaction score
Credits
Hi guys,

I installed PureOS 9.0 on my laptop without a problem but when I restarted, after the initial Lenovo logo the monitor went black with just the background light still on.

It seems there is an issue with the AMD drivers, some guy apparently solved it (https://unix.stackexchange.com/questions/550218/pureos-doesnt-load-amd-graphics-firmware#587508) but I don't have a clue how to do this.

A more detailed guide would be highly appreciated as I am quite new to the scene.

Laptop details:
Lenovo G505s
AMD A10-5750M APU with Radeon(tm) HD Graphics 2.50 GHz
RAM 4.00 GB, 64-Bit

Thanks,
Marcel

Hi guys,

I installed PureOS 9.0 on my laptop without a problem but when I restarted, after the initial Lenovo logo the monitor went black with just the background light still on.

It seems there is an issue with the AMD drivers, some guy apparently solved it (https://unix.stackexchange.com/questions/550218/pureos-doesnt-load-amd-graphics-firmware#587508) but I don't have a clue how to do this.

A more detailed guide would be highly appreciated as I am quite new to the scene.

Laptop details:
Lenovo G505s
RAM 4.00 GB, 64-Bit

Thanks,
Marcel

Well, if I understand correctly what's explained here https://unix.stackexchange.com/questions/550218/pureos-doesnt-load-amd-graphics-firmware#587508 all you need is to download this file save it to a USB and install it with
Code:
sudo apt install ./firmware-amd-graphics_20201218-3_all.deb
in PureOS. To do that,
1. Turn on your pc and press Ctrl + Alt + F3 as soon as the initial Lenovo logo appears, this should give you a tty, you're now in text-only mode in a console.
2. Plug the USB stick you saved the firmware-amd-graphics_20201218-3_all.deb in.
3. Type
Code:
lsblk
to list the disks/partitions connected to the machine, note down the USB id, should be something like /dev/sdc.
4. Mount the USB
Code:
sudo mount /dev/sdc /mnt
replace sdc with the actual id.