How To Gain a Deep Understanding of the Linux Kernel

pineapple

Reaction score
Credits
Good Afternoon,

I am not a proficient programmer. Therefore, I can not view source code of the Linux kernel and gain a deep understanding of how Linux works. Therefore, I believe that reading about design philosophy and the decisions that led to certain contributions to the Linux kernel would be beneficial in the interim.

Where can I go to read the aforementioned?

Thank you.

Hi @pineapple, and welcome! I think the Wikipedia article about the Linux kernel (here) seems like a good place for you to start. And from there... follow some of the MANY LINKS and footnotes to learn more. Good luck!

Cheers

Another good resource would be the Linux Kernel documentation:
https://www.kernel.org/doc/html/latest/

Most of the documentation might only be useful for programmers, because it details various kernel API's and sub-systems. But there are also many sections that cover the design and implementation of some of the sub-systems. So it's almost certainly worth a browse.

Actually, Jas (& welcome @pineapple ;)), I was wondering what you make of this one?

https://linuxhint.com/linux-kernel-tutorial-beginners/

I find it quite easy to understand, but, although it claims to have been written 8 months ago, it is obviously dated, perhaps cobbled together over time, or edited, un-annotated, with its references to Fedora 13, and also to kernel 3.17. We are up to 4.16.9 now, with LTS (long term support) being on 4.14 I think?

v3.17 is around about the time of the Shellshock Bug of late September 2014.

Still, it has some useful links, so may be of use to the OP.

Cheers gotta fly

Chris Turner
wizardfromoz

Actually, Jas (& welcome @pineapple ;)), I was wondering what you make of this one?

https://linuxhint.com/linux-kernel-tutorial-beginners/