How can install open office from a dvd

• Thread starter Deleted member 35560
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 35560

I am sorry I got told off for not putting this in the correct place. I am completely new at this so again, sorry if it seems stupid or has been answered before. I have Linux Mint, which I really love, but I didn't like Libre Office so tried to install using wine Microsoft Office 2007 which I have on disk. It didn't seem to work so I purchased Open Office on DVD. It works fine, well the dvd does, but I can install Open Office and get it to work. Please can some one help me, if you can please remember I've only been on Mint for a week so don't make it too tecky for me - thank you

I am sorry I got told off for not putting this in the correct place. I am completely new at this so again, sorry if it seems stupid or has been answered before. I have Linux Mint, which I really love, but I didn't like Libre Office so tried to install using wine Microsoft Office 2007 which I have on disk. It didn't seem to work so I purchased Open Office on DVD. It works fine, well the dvd does, but I can install Open Office and get it to work. Please can some one help me, if you can please remember I've only been on Mint for a week so don't make it too tecky for me - thank you

Hi @Ptahhotep, and welcome! It's hard when you first get started, but hang in there and folks here will try to help.

First off, I would highly recommend you stick with LibreOffice that was included with Linux Mint. OpenOffice is not actually being developed anymore (so I'm sorry you spent money for a DVD), but LibreOffice is a fork of OpenOffice that is regularly updated. Almost all of the major Linux distributions now choose LibreOffice as their default office suite.