Hi I'm a complete novice

Old n dumb

Reaction score
Credits
A big HI to everyone , just introducing myself and after a few pointers. Firstly I'm a complete novice when it comes to Linux, at present I'm running a couple of laptops in the household one with windows 10 and one with windows 7 but I have a spare old toshiba that's been on Vista but keeps crashing so I've decided to start fresh and it has been formatted to ntfs standard, my question is I would like to install Linux along with a simple photo editing program and an office type program. As I'm New to Linux what version should I be looking at and the same with the other programs, where is the best source, and are there any books I should be looking at, are there any anti virus programs needed and firewalls, do i need to set up new email addresses, I would like to keep it simple as possible as I'm a complete newbie to Linux.

Hello, Old n dumb and welcome to Linux.org.

I am older than you!

We were all novices once...

Many Linux distros would suit you. The usual suspects for newbies are Linux Mint, Ubuntu and the varieties of Ubuntu e.g. Xubuntu and Lubuntu, and the distros "based" on Ubuntu e.g Linux Mint, LXDE and Linux Lite.

To some extent, it depends on what YOU like and what suits YOUR Computer. How much RAM have you got?

The old saying is if you use Ubuntu you will learn Ubuntu...if you (say) Slackware you will learn Linux. So it is a beginning, but not necessarily the end destination.

If you Google "Linux simple photo editing" you will see many choices. One suggestion is a program called Pinta.

The usual office program is LibreOffice - also available for Windows. But you may prefer Kingsoft's WPS or something else.

There are many debates about the necessity of antivirus or firewalls. Are they necessary or not? Maybe the answer is that many viruses (virii?) are written for Windows. Not so many for Mac or Linux. I have worked for quite a few years with Linux and I have installed neither.