Hi everyone

Walthair14

Reaction score
Credits
Hello everyone,

Working in the industrial automation field, I became more and more curious about how computers work. So I decided to install a transparent operating system - Linux - first to understand how it's made, and then learn some basic programming.
As a beginner I found it very difficult to find clear and organized information. Numerous sites / forums have a lot of content but it's difficult to part out of date from up to date information. Then I landed here and found a tutorial forum well administrated and some other interesting answers to my questions.
So, even if I don't know if I'm going to be really active, I decided to sign in a least to thank the team and the contributors who helped me.

Hello @Walthair14! Welcome to the community here! What started your interest in GNU/Linux?

G'day @Walthair14 - enjoy your Linux journeys. :)

Chris Turner
wizardfromoz

I'm going to be really active

Hop on in, the water's warm.

(I peed in it.)

Nah, we're a pretty easygoing bunch. Most of us appreciate those who want to learn more than those who just want to be told some magical incantation that repairs their box of mystery.

Hello @Walthair14! Welcome to the community here! What started your interest in GNU/Linux?

As I said I work in industrial automation, and I wanted to try ROS (Robot Operating System), a framework designed for robot control. So I went on the web site, then clicked on Get ROS thinking I would just need to download a .exe, but finally I reached a page with lines such as:
Code:
sudo apt install ros-melodic-desktop-full
sudo apt install ros-melodic-desktop
sudo apt install ros-melodic-ros-base