Help With Error While Attempting to Install / Run Vagrant and VM Configuration in Ubuntu 18.04

NewbieLux

Reaction score
Credits
Hi All,

I'm more or less a total newbie who is just getting used to transitioning from the GUI to the command line and I've run into a problem getting the configuration for vagrant to run (I'm doing a course on Udacity (Intro to Relational Databases) that requires these installations). I receive the following error message:

Error while connecting to libvirt: Error making a connection to libvirt URI qemu:///system?no_verify=1&keyfile=/home/secxos/.ssh/id_rsa: (VagrantPlugins::providerLibvirt::Errors::FogLibvirtConnectionError)
Call to virConnectOpen failed: Failed to connect socket to '/var/run/libvirt/libvirt-sock': No such file or directory
Error while connecting to libvirt: Error making a connection to libvirt URI qemu:///system?no_verify=1&keyfile=/home/secxos/.ssh/id_rsa
rt-sock': No such file or directory

So i guess a connection is not being made and a file is missing. Needless to say I'm struggling to understand half of this so if anyone who help or provide some useful pointers / explanations / solutions about what is going wrong that would be much appreciated. This is the full traceback:

Bringing machine 'default' up with 'libvirt' provider...
#<Thread:0x000055e65e8106b0@/usr/share/rubygems-integration/all/gems/vagrant-2.0.2/lib/vagrant/batch_action.rb:71 run> terminated with exception (report_on_exception is true):
Traceback (most recent call last):
25: from /usr/share/rubygems-integration/all/gems/vagrant-2.0.2/lib/vagrant/batch_action.rb:82:in `block (2 levels) in run'
24: from /usr/share/rubygems-integration/all/gems/vagrant-2.0.2/lib/vagrant/machine.rb:188:in `action'
23: from /usr/share/rubygems-integration/all/gems/vagrant-2.0.2/lib/vagrant/machine.rb:188:in `call'
22: from /usr/share/rubygems-integration/all/gems/vagrant-2.0.2/lib/vagrant/environment.rb:592:in `lock'