Help with distro

rejenzu

Reaction score
Credits
Hi everybody,

i'm new to Linux and i'm trying to find out what distro to use.

I've been reading a lot of treads here, and the questions just have increased, but i saw someone saying to be specifc when it comes to find the "perfect" distro, so here it goes:

I'm using a Dell notebook, 16GB Ram, 2GB Video, i'm at college doing computational science, and i've had never programming until i get here, and i'm really enjoying it, and i really want to learn to use linux and the uses of it, so i basically going to program on the distro, use IDEs, etc.

Can you guys please help me?

PS.: I'm sorry for any errors or if the text is a little bit confuse, english is not my mother language.

I suggest you install Virtualbox on your OS and try linux on it (Ubuntu, OpenSuSE, Fedora, Mint...). After you know what you want, install on hard disc

Hey there rejenzu - welcome to the forum!

I'll echo what @MacgyverPT suggested by trying out Linux (various distributions) on something like Virtualbox or on a live USB drive prior to jumping right in on your laptop.

Have you worked with virtual machines in the past at all? This will allow you to run your laptop how you do currently, but also have a Linux distribution running on it as well. You'd start up windows, then fire up the virtualbox application when you wanted to go into Linux.

Rob

I saw someone saying to be specifc when it comes to find the "perfect" distro
Hi @rejenzu, and welcome! Let me say first, there is no perfect distro! That is why there are over 300 active distros available. The challenge for a new user is to find the one that is best for you, for your likes and dislikes about how a computer should work and interact with you. So I will also echo @Rob and @MacgyverPT.... install VirtualBox in Windows, and then try out several different distros inside of VirtualBox. Your Dell has plenty of RAM and capability to do this.