!HELP! Virus blocking acces to most websites

Emergency

Reaction score
Credits
Hi there,

I really need help. I am new to Linux and i am not yet used to work with the terminal and how linux works compared to windows.

I use linux mint cinamon.

I think i have a virus that blocks most websites. It started today.

Mabye its because i installed and allowed java, to play some browser games.

I already installed clamav+clamtk but i am not able to update the antivirus signatures because i can not connect to the servers. I also can't download
"WARNING: Can't download main.cvd from db.local.clamav.net"

I also looked up some youtube "internet problem fixing" with the dns, but that seems to be not the problem.

I don't know what else i can do.

You help would be really appreciated.

G'day Emergency, and Welcome to Linux.org

Uninstall clamav and clamtk.

Reboot after the uninstalls.

See if you can access websites now.

The reason I have taken this approach is because I had the clam product installed long ago just after i moved to linux from windows, and I experienced nothing but weird trouble.

Also....Linux is fairly impervious to virus's and pop ups etc etc.....practise Safe Surfing and you will generally stay out of trouble. This is one of the huge differences between Linux and windows.

Please be sure that the firewall is enabled.

Open terminal (ctrl+alt+T) type in ::

sudo ufw enable

(copy and paste so you get the spacing right)

you will be asked for your password.....
Type it in......you will NOT SEE any letters, numbers etc...this is normal

Take a look at this page it is Ubuntu's page....but it applies to Linux as well.(as do a lot of ubuntu pages..)

That will do you for now....get the firewall in place ands you will be quite safe. That is all I run and I am quite sure that most if not all others here will be the same