Help installing linux

Mooey42

Reaction score
Credits
So I've been trying to install solus mate an old windows pc i'm currently sending this from, except when I get to the rufus step of any guide I look at always gives me an error saying "Error: Write error." I have no idea what I' doing wrong and really want Linux on this laptop so I'd love some help!

(im using an usb stick with 4 gb)

Attachments

• Annotation 2020-04-21 073027.png
    Annotation 2020-04-21 073027.png
    26.8 KB · Views: 376
Last edited:

I've seen this multiple times when I use "iso" mode. But when I use "dd" mode, it usually works.

This is my first time trying to get linux so i dont really know. (by first time i mean first time attempting to get it on a pc)

G'day Mooey42 and Welcome to linux.org

When you eventually get solus installed on that PC, do you have an expectation that Windows will still be there ?......or are you prepared for the fact that Solus will wipe out the windows operating system completely ?

Try another bootable live usb maker like unetbootin

When you have success (we can lead you through the process of using unetbootin if you need it ).......you would then change the boot order in the windows pc so that it selects the usb thumb drive to boot from.

Pay attention to my paragraph in red first.

Last edited:
G'day Mooey42 and Welcome to linux.org

When you eventually get solus installed on that PC, do you have an expectation that Windows will still be there ?......or are you prepared for the fact that Solus will wipe out the windows operating system completely ?

Try another bootable live usb maker like unetbootin

When you have success (we can lead you through the process of using unetbootin if you need it ).......you would then change the boot oder n the windows pc so that it selects the usb thumb drive to boot from.

Pay attention to my paragraph in red first.