Hello. Changing to Linux and...

GusCE6

Reaction score
Credits
After years of Windows and disliking Apple when I change the hard drive in my 2012 8GB ASUS I am going to install Linux. The ASUS currently uses USB-Puppy Linux 6.3.0 Slacko 32-Bit since the hard drive is apparently shot.

I would like one that does not update unless you allow it, is not too much like Puppy Linux, and is 64-Bit but works well with 32-Bit software.

I would likely install it via CD, but if anyone knows of another way, great!

As I am fairly new to Linux itself can anyone give me any recommendations to start with? I only have a few minutes left here but the ASUS is also 64-Bit, has two processors and runs at 2.4GHz, is pretty powerful.

If "true" Linux is even better than Puppy then given what Puppy Linux can do and how well the 32-Bit distros run Windows software via WINE then it will be a good choice indeed.

Thanks in advance!

Welcome
there are over 1000 Linux distributions, but most important around 500 desktop builds,
now, your laptop probably came with 2gb ram, there are quite a few 64 bit lightweight builds that will run on it, but if it has [or you increase to] 4gb ram you can run any distribution you like, we can't tell you which is the best, only you can choose what's best for you, many members will sing the praises of their favourite distribution, but that doesn't make it the right one for you, being a 2012 machine you should be able to install using either USB or optical drives,

Edit,, just noticed you say 8gb ram already, so any distribution. You can set wine to run both 32 and 64 bit

Last edited:
You could run any distro, some lighter ones would be better but they'd all run well enough.

This won't directly answer your question, but you can read this:

Welcome to the Forum.
m0135.gif

Plenty of Distros to choose from...enjoy.
m01101.gif