HDMI sound not working on any linux distro

dnlaua

Reaction score
Credits
I've been trying to get linux to work with my HDMI sound to no avail. I tried Ubuntu 18.04 and 18.10, Fedora, and openSUSE. I've read a bunch or articles and tried many things like alsa force-reload, pulseaudio --kill, and all that jazz. Maybe it's my sound card? I'm reinstalling Ubuntu 18.04 so if you have any suggestions for getting HDMI sound to work on that it would be much appreciated! Not even sure what my sound card is so help on checking that would be awesome too. I know my graphics card is a Nvidia GTX1070, but does that mean my sound card is Nvidia too? Sorry, I'm pretty new to Linux and haven't had to worry about these kind of things with Windows. Thanks.

G'day @dnlaua and welcome to linux.org :)

At Terminal (this will work in any of your listed Distros), copy and paste and enter the following

Code:
lspci -v | grep -i audio

That will give us a starter.

Cheers

Chris Turner
wizardfromoz

G'day @dnlaua and welcome to linux.org :)

At Terminal (this will work in any of your listed Distros), copy and paste and enter the following

Code:
lspci -v | grep -i audio

That will give us a starter.

Cheers

Chris Turner
wizardfromoz
Here's what I got
Code:
00:1f.3 Audio device: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-H HD Audio (rev 31)
    Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Sunrise Point-H HD Audio

Thanks for that - so the next output you could post would be that from

Code:
aplay -l

#that's a lowercase L

This will determine if Linux is detecting your HDMI chip.

I am on a Linux Mint at the moment, and mine looks like this (I don't use HDMI but the facility is there)

chris@SylviaMATE-Dell ~ $ aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: ALC3246 Analog [ALC3246 Analog]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 7: HDMI 1 [HDMI 1]