Having a tough time with Dual Booting two seperate ssd drives and problems with compiz

Soundsystem00

Reaction score
Credits
I have literally been wanting compiz for a decade. I know it sounds stupid but I am an artist and always thought the effects were amazing. I finally got a nice laptop ( msi gs65 stealth ) and it has a kick ass graphics card which is being picked up in ubuntu 18.04.3 LTS and I even isntalled compiz and read dozens of tutorials and tried resetting literally everything andnothing works. If I have to install a different distro to get Compiz to work, then that is fine as long as it isn't too complex. Some help on this would be SO much apprciated.

I am also having severe boot issues. First when I installed ubuntu on the drive that I made secondary ( the 512 toshiba that came factory ) and put windows on the new samsung m.2 ssd 1tb, Ubuntu booted up and the drive disappeared from the boot menu. I could still see it in file manager and could even mount it, but NOTHING on boot. I finally just reinstalled windows and now I can choose what to boot but I have to go all the way into the BIOS. Any solutions on this? Sorry for the noob questions guys but I am very determined to master, or at least be able to use, Linux in general, especially kali.

Thanks in advance, in the meantime I will keep searching for answers.

Laptop is MSI GS65 Stealth Thin 32GB ram, NVIDIA 6gb graphics card. If you guys need any other info or logs please let me know. And I hope this is the beginning of a fun journey.

For the booting problem try updating Grub.:)

Open the terminal in Ubuntu and run:

sudo update-grub

Re-boot and Grub should give you the option to boot into either Windows or Linux.

To fix Compiz go into the Compiz Config Settings Manager and go through the settings.
The first 4 instructions in this Google search should help you to get the cube working.

I haven't used Compiz since Ubuntu was 10.04-