Gunzip & wildcards not working inside bash script

st44985753

Reaction score
Credits
I'm new to Linux and would appreciate any help.

I have a bash script that includes the line below. By the time the script gets to this line, it's already working from the same directory as the .gz file.

/bin/gunzip -k < *.gz | /usr/bin/mysql -u root -p"************" sites

With the above, I keep getting a "file not found" error for the *.gz file. But when I change it to the full file name below, it works:

/bin/gunzip -k < backup_2021-01-16-0915_sitename_c1c565464574-db.gz | /usr/bin/mysql -u root -p"************" sites

I'd really like to use the wildcard so I don't have to edit the bash script with the latest file name every time I run it.

Any ideas why the wildcard isn't working?

Thanks!

make sure you have the following line as the very first line in your script to specify the shell environment.

#!/bin/bash

@st44985753 :
So what you're doing there is using input redirection to redirect the file into gunzip, which will cause it to extract the file to stdout. Then you're piping it to mysql and running whatever commands are in the file? Is this correct?

Are you only ever using one .gz file? or is it possible that there will be several .gz files there?

Because you are using input redirection, if there is more than one .gz fiile, you will end up with an error about an ambiguous redirect.
But if you only have one file - the pattern *.gz should be sufficient enough for it to be able to find that file and the command should work.
So I don't think you'll get an error from gunzip about "*.gz" not existing.

I haven't used mysql in a very long time, but I don't think mysql will yield an error about *.gz not existing either because the content of the file is directly piped to it, so it won't receive the filename, just the unzipped contents of the file.... So that's weird!

If you have more than one .gz, you can redirect all of them at once like this:
Bash: