Grub rescue mode

Stefan2k

Reaction score
Credits
Hi, I'm a newbie so please be patient. I installed Linux Mint-Cinnamon on mydesktop alongside Win10. When the system boots up you have to make a choice in order to get to Windows otherwise Linux will load. My wife who rarely uses the desktop, missed the prompt and when linux started loading she pushed the reset button. Since then I can't get the computer to completely load, I don't even get a prompt asking which OS to load. What I do get is;

Error: no such device: 8718abe5-dcfd=4cfb-b237=95dcc0f94510
ENTERING RESCUE MODE
GRUB RESCUE>

I have no idea what to do. I know grub has something to do with bootloading, I don't know what to do about the problem.

HELP?????

Hi @Stefan2k, and welcome to the site!

Well, you may get out of this easily, or you may end up copying and pasting a number of commands in a terminal. But one way or another you should be able to get grub working again. My good friend @wizardfromoz is much better at this stuff, so I'm sure he will jump in soon with better guidance.

I guess a good place to start asking questions is, "What brand and model is the desktop?" Sometimes knowing this is helpful... some brands/models may stand out for certain troubles.

Have you booted, or tried to boot into Windows 10 yet? Grub used to give you this option, but there is usually another way into Windows. When you turn on the computer, when you see the brand logo usually, it may show you some F-keys that give you some startup options... such as Setup, or Boot Menu. If you have a Boot Menu option, you may can choose that F-key and see a choice for Windows Boot Loader or something similar. I doubt your Windows was harmed, but its nice to confirm that it is okay.