Purchase Linux CDs / DVDs / Flash Drives at OSDisc.com

Welcome to Our Community

While Linux.org has been around for a while, we recently changed management and had to purge most of the content (including users). If you signed up before April 23rd, 2017 please sign up again. Thanks!

Grub loader on ufei machine

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Cmartineau8625, Jun 9, 2018.

  1. Cmartineau8625

    Cmartineau8625 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    10
    Hi, i bought a windows 10 hp 15-bw033wm touchscreen a12 to multi boot with kali and possibly knoppix as a diagnostic machine, however i cannot rearrange my boot loader, i was wondering if there was a way to i have not thoight of, or doni have to install grub on the windows management ufei drive partition


    (Log in to hide this advertisement)

     
  2. arochester

    arochester Gold Member
    Staff Member Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    399
    If you want to use Kali Linux, unless you have a very good reason to do so, and can't sort out all your own problems, by yourself then Kali Linux is not for you.

    Kali Linux Documentation says, amongst other things
     
  3. Cmartineau8625

    Cmartineau8625 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    10
    Its more im not use to an eufi system yet, all my other systems had the origional bios, before microsoft intergraded the product key with the computer...m
     
  4. wizardfromoz

    wizardfromoz Super Moderator
    Staff Member Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    1,704
    Likes Received:
    1,778
    Whilst I am inclined for the most part to agree with colleague @arochester , and through him, the people at Offensive Security (Kali), perhaps we can draw out from you a bit more about where you are at and what you would like to achieve? :)

    (Wizard appears in a puff of smoke, brandishing a cup of coffee perilously near his keyboard, humming an incantation)

    For starters, let's get a couple of terms clear. If you review your writings, you'll see you have used "ufei" and "eufi". It is UEFI - Unified Extensible Firmware Interface - which you can read about on Google. Both Windows and Linux have their abbreviated terms, and whether or not your first language is English makes little difference ... they take a bit of getting used to :D

    Although I note you are using AMD, Intel plans to discontinue all support for BIOS by 2020, and AMD is likely some way along that path as well.
    1. Is it the case that you have Windows 10 and Kali installed side-by-side (referred to as dualbooting), and are both working OK?
    2. If YES to the above, you will likely have a menu that appears at startup, that allows you to choose between booting Kali or Windows. This is called your GRUB Menu, where GRUB stands for GRand Unified Bootloader. Is this the case?
    3. If YES, can you take a clear picture with perhaps your phone and upload it to us?
    4. Have you used Linux before on your other systems, and if so, which one/s? eg Ubuntu, Linux Mint, &c
    Once we have the answers to these questions, we will likely have more, lol.

    Cheers

    Chris Turner
    wizardfromoz ... that's DownUnder :confused:
     
    atanere likes this.
  5. Cmartineau8625

    Cmartineau8625 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    10
    1, i actually have windows 10, kali, and fedora currently installed on my laptop.

    2, Grub loads up if i boot to the hard drive, and currently the linux os's load from grub, if i dont get to my boot options quick enough my efi file loads which boots windows.

    4, i have dual booted before( on an hp pavilion 620) primarily Debian, though i have tried a fewnothe flavors
     
    atanere and wizardfromoz like this.
  6. wizardfromoz

    wizardfromoz Super Moderator
    Staff Member Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    1,704
    Likes Received:
    1,778
    That is good news to hear. It is a big plus that makes it easier for me to explain, and for you to follow. It also puts you in a category of knowing "just enough to be dangerous" ... but take no offence, I have been running Linux exclusively for 4 years and still regard myself as being in that category :).

    I note you have answered 1, 2 and 4 (ta - pronounced "tar", Aussie for thanks), was 3. a problem? Read on.

    In "the natural scheme of things", when you are a Windows user who dual or multiboots, the Grub Menu comes into play with Linux on top of the "leaderboard" as I call it, and Windows perhaps last.

    Have you done something to change this? (Grub Customizer springs to mind).

    Presuming Windows was on first, as it shipped that way, did you install Kali next or Fedora (I am guessing WS 28), and did the Grub Menu order change, if so how?

    See what I said about more questions? Hope you are patient with an old fart like me. On the up side, I run 40 or more Linux on each computer, so have a good idea on multi-multi-booting :cool:

    Cheers

    Wizard

    Edited - last para, 4 to 40 ... sticky keys, lol
     
    #6 wizardfromoz, Jun 10, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2018
    atanere likes this.
  7. Cmartineau8625

    Cmartineau8625 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    10
    It came with win10 home, then i installed kali, followed by fedra workstation 28, still unsure if i wanna switch fedora to debian but one thing at a time... when i first installed my linux os the laptop would still boot directly into windows due to me not being able to adjust my boot order, but i somehow removed my efi boot options, probably when i mounted it onto fedora. Plus side i boot into grub, and both linux installs load, i just am not sure how to direct grub to my windows install....
    grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub2/grub.cfg will only detect my recovery partition
     
  8. wizardfromoz

    wizardfromoz Super Moderator
    Staff Member Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    1,704
    Likes Received:
    1,778
    Regrets on the delay in returning :)

    ... was that performed from within Fedora? If so, it is an incorrect command, used for BIOS. Easy mistake to make :D

    The correct command for UEFI-based machines for Fedora is

    Code:
    grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/efi/EFI/fedora/grub.cfg
    ... however, that will only output the "State of the Nation" for the Distros concerned, unless you have made modifications in /etc/default/grub (OK to do), a custom script in /etc/grub.d usually 40_custom (takes a fair bit of knowledge), or grub.cfg itself (a no-no).

    I'll show you a picture I took a while ago

    [​IMG]

    SCREENSHOT 1 - ONE OF MY GRUB MENUS

    If you can get a shot like that and post it in, that would be cool. A picture is worth a 1,000 words :p

    Can you give us the output from within Fedora of

    Code:
    sudo gdisk -l /dev/sda
    ... that's a lowercase L

    Mine is as in the Spoiler

    [[email protected] chris]# gdisk -l /dev/sda
    GPT fdisk (gdisk) version 1.0.3

    Partition table scan:
    MBR: protective
    BSD: not present
    APM: not present
    GPT: present

    Found valid GPT with protective MBR; using GPT.
    Disk /dev/sda: 1953525168 sectors, 931.5 GiB
    Model: TOSHIBA MQ01ABD1
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512/512 bytes
    Disk identifier (GUID): 4C24CEF2-6684-44DD-83C4-C5D7E75EB5C1
    Partition table holds up to 128 entries
    Main partition table begins at sector 2 and ends at sector 33
    First usable sector is 34, last usable sector is 1953525134
    Partitions will be aligned on 2048-sector boundaries
    Total free space is 396308317 sectors (189.0 GiB)

    Number Start (sector) End (sector) Size Code Name
    1 1942865920 1943992319 550.0 MiB EF00 EFI System Partition
    2 2048 31461375 15.0 GiB 8300
    3 1943992320 1952380927 4.0 GiB 8200
    4 31461376 62920703 15.0 GiB 8300
    5 62920704 94377735 15.0 GiB 8300
    6 94377984 125835263 15.0 GiB 8300
    7 125835264 157292295 15.0 GiB 8300
    8 157292544 188749823 15.0 GiB 8300
    9 188749824 220207103 15.0 GiB 8300
    10 220207104 251664383 15.0 GiB 8300
    11 251664384 283121663 15.0 GiB 8300
    12 283121664 314578943 15.0 GiB 8300
    13 314578944 346036223 15.0 GiB 8300
    14 346036224 367007743 10.0 GiB 8300
    15 367007744 398465023 15.0 GiB 8300
    16 398465024 429922303 15.0 GiB 8300
    17 429922304 471865343 20.0 GiB 8300
    18 471865344 513808383 20.0 GiB 8300 ArchBased
    19 513808384 545265663 15.0 GiB 8300
    20 545265664 576722943 15.0 GiB 8300
    21 576722944 618665983 20.0 GiB 8300 ArchBased
    22 618665984 650123263 15.0 GiB 8300
    23 650123264 683677695 16.0 GiB 8300
    24 683677696 708843519 12.0 GiB 8300
    25 708843520 771758079 30.0 GiB 8300 ArchBased
    26 771758080 805312511 16.0 GiB 8300
    27 805312512 836769791 15.0 GiB 8300
    28 836769792 861935615 12.0 GiB 8300
    29 861935616 893392895 15.0 GiB 8300 Debian-based
    30 893392896 935335935 20.0 GiB 8300 ArchbasedMJRO-CSM
    31 935335936 977278975 20.0 GiB 8300
    32 977278976 1008736255 15.0 GiB 8300
    33 1008736256 1040193535 15.0 GiB 8300
    34 1040193536 1071650815 15.0 GiB 8300
    35 1071650816 1103108095 15.0 GiB 8300 ArchBased
    36 1103108096 1186994175 40.0 GiB 8300
    37 1186994176 1312823295 60.0 GiB 8300
    38 1312823296 1354766335 20.0 GiB 8300
    39 1354766336 1379932159 12.0 GiB 8300 InstalledUnderCSM
    40 1379932160 1411389439 15.0 GiB 8300
    41 1411389440 1442846719 15.0 GiB 8300
    42 1751138304 1835024383 40.0 GiB 8300
    43 1835024384

    .. but yours will be considerably shorter.

    And from either Fedora or Kali's GParted, a screenshot of your partition setup? Windows Disk Management will not reflect it as well as Linux does.

    There is a product called Grub Customizer which you could put on your Fedora (haven't tried installing it on Kali) which would allow you to choose the Grub Menu order, but personally I don't recommend it but can explain why if you ask.

    Personally, I would be looking to install Timeshift on both Kali and Fedora (& Debian if you get it installed), take snapshots of each, and use restored snapshots to control the Grub order of your Linux, but that would still leave Windows at the bottom.

    See what you think and get back to us when you can.

    Cheers

    Wizard
     
    atanere and Rob like this.
  9. atanere

    atanere Moderator
    Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,701
    Likes Received:
    1,799
    I may be wrong, but I think after the above command, you also need to:
    Code:
    sudo update-grub
    And welcome @Cmartineau8625! You are in good UEFI hands with the Wizard. Anyone who can install 40 different distros on a single computer and make them all work is a UEFI master for sure... or, a UEFI Wizard! :D:D

    Cheers
     
    wizardfromoz and Condobloke like this.
  10. wizardfromoz

    wizardfromoz Super Moderator
    Staff Member Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    1,704
    Likes Received:
    1,778
    ... on this occasion, yes, my very good friend ;). But you are in good company.

    Code:
    update-grub
    ... is a "stub", first made prominent (I think) in Ubuntu itself, and then this flowed through to Ubuntu-based Distros from Linux Mint and outwards.

    When invoked, it calls on

    Code:
    grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg
    
    #note the syntax, and always use the -o
    All of the other Distros-Families use the longer version instead of "update-grub".

    BUT (there's always a but with Wizard), there is an exception.

    Manjaro and Manjaro-based-Arch-based Distros also use it.

    Cheers, I'm off for more coffee :D

    Wizard
     
    CptCharis, Condobloke and atanere like this.
  11. wizardfromoz

    wizardfromoz Super Moderator
    Staff Member Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    1,704
    Likes Received:
    1,778
    I dashed off yesterday having mentioned Timeshift and giving no explanation for it to the OP and The Viewers. (Bad Wizard :oops:)

    WIZARD'S RECOMMENDED READING, IN-HOUSE

    https://www.linux.org/threads/timeshift-similar-solutions-safeguard-recover-your-linux.15241/ and

    https://www.linux.org/threads/aptik-have-settings-will-travel.4529/

    On the face of it, Aptik may not appear to have much relevance to this thread, but if the OP is looking to change his boot order and make other sizable changes to his environment, he may wish to safeguard Settings he spent time in setting up, as part of a "Recovery Solution". That is where Aptik can come in.

    In case some ask "But does Aptik work in Distros that don't employ apt and apt-get?", up until now the answer was No".

    However with the latest Aptik, developer Tony George has rewritten Aptik from the ground up, and it now supports Arch-based Distros and also Fedora, which the OP has currently. I will try these out in my own environment and report on the outcomes at the Aptik thread when done.

    Cheers all, and enjoy your Linux ;)

    Wizard
     
    atanere likes this.
  12. Cmartineau8625

    Cmartineau8625 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    10
    Thank you @wizardfromoz, lol after a few messups and reformats i realized it all depended on how i was booting up my dvd, or usb drive (im deffinatly got to find a newsletter or something that will keep me updated with new and upcoming technology) but as i stand at the moment grub is my bootloader, and i have 4 os's installed (windows 10, debian 9 since im more familiar with apt-get than pacman, kali for my recovery and maliciouse software scanner, and arch just cause sometimes you need a cli) at the moment windows, kali, and arch boot up and debian freezes but i think its due to a missing firmware to my network card...
     
    wizardfromoz and atanere like this.
  13. Cmartineau8625

    Cmartineau8625 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    10
    @wizardfromoz i will try to get the screenshots, and or copy of files tonight
     
    wizardfromoz likes this.
  14. Cmartineau8625

    Cmartineau8625 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    10
    gave up on installing debian, but ubuntu istalled well
     
    atanere likes this.
  15. wizardfromoz

    wizardfromoz Super Moderator
    Staff Member Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    1,704
    Likes Received:
    1,778
    Oh well, stuff happens :)

    But that's good news about the Ubuntu :D. Thanks for keeping us posted and

    Enjoy your Linux

    Chris Turner
    wizardfromoz
     
    atanere likes this.
  16. Cmartineau8625

    Cmartineau8625 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    10
    Wasnt happy w ubuntu a while back ago cause of no root access, but sudos starting to grow on me.... lol
     
    atanere likes this.
  17. wizardfromoz

    wizardfromoz Super Moderator
    Staff Member Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    1,704
    Likes Received:
    1,778
    You can still use

    Code:
    sudo su
    
    #or
    
    sudo -i
    to get the same effect?

    Wiz
     
    atanere and Cmartineau8625 like this.

Share This Page