Gnu-interface &debian i need instructions &new Tipps

endruschat100

Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2021
Messages
63
Reaction score
1
Credits
454
Excuse me,i ASK me where is for example the different between systems Like mageia & Neptune? mageia Looks like a gnu-interface and Neptune Like Debian,but i don't Unterstand the different between the distribution!
 


Fanboi

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2021
Messages
358
Reaction score
270
Credits
4,288
What you are seeing as an interface, is a DE (Desktop Environment). The difference between distros is their core, inner workings, philosophy, software repos, preconfigurations, etc. Most DEs are available on most distros (a "distro" is a term for "dustribution" which refers to which Linux-based or BSD-based OS you run). The DE can be customised how you like. Often the more user-friendly distros preconfigure their main DE to look flashy, Windows-alike, cyberpunkish/h4xx0rish, or a combination.
 
OP
endruschat100

endruschat100

Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2021
Messages
63
Reaction score
1
Credits
454
ok,thanks but maybe you could help me with another question?
by restarting and shutdown this device with neptune distribution (Medion Akoya E7420) -
i´m expieriencing a problem:the processes are simply stopped,i mean,that for example the reboot-routine it does not work,and i have to force the restart.
i you want i could poste later the output from this device at this moment?
these errors don´t always appear!
only in linux-not in windows
 

Fanboi

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2021
Messages
358
Reaction score
270
Credits
4,288
I'm not 100% familiar with Neptune, but if it is a systemd distro, this hanging can happen. Post me a screenshot and I'll take a look.
 
OP
endruschat100

endruschat100

Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2021
Messages
63
Reaction score
1
Credits
454
I´m sorry-but this hanging-prozess didn´t happen again.I can poste this output,when the time comes!
1.If you or another user could recommend a suitable distribution
for example a windows10-device(Intel Chipset)-
i don´t have the hardware-data in my head right know...
?
2.I wonder which distribution would be suitable for new notebooks with windows11?
 

Fanboi

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2021
Messages
358
Reaction score
270
Credits
4,288
Yep, that's systemd. Not too sure what's causing it specific to MariaDB, but basically in general it's when a process is "busy" and has a lock of sorts. You can kill these processes by force manually. IDK much about writing systemd files, but I'm sure there's a conditional terminate option.

About hardware support, Manjaro is easiest on newcomers. But the best way to check is to just run your distro live and check if anything isn't working before installation.

As for a Windows 10 replacement, most distros will do. If you want an easy & somewhat familiar feel, both Mint and Manjaro-XFCE have very Windows-alike layout. But the core system is more important as you can do cosmetics later, like choosing a DE (XFCE is very configurable).
 

Fanboi

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2021
Messages
358
Reaction score
270
Credits
4,288
Top / htop will not show you everything on one page, but you do not need to know that info. One thing I see that is of use is you are running an *SQL database software, which I'm guessing is to to do with MariaDB.
The problem with DB software is that it will usually be busy most of the time, and like all software that is writing, altering, etc. data, will ignore a softkill signal. If you are running a server, this is especially true when data is being copied from or written to the DB. That's where systemd's biggest weakness stands: if a process is still running and ignores a softkill, it waits for the process to finish. But this is its biggest strength because that may save data loss and other nasties due to forcefully-kill process. It has bugs, but those are generally the process-related, i.e. something not easy to resolve. That's how an ETA becomes mess, going from 30s --> 60d --> 2min, etc. A process X can simply hang while busy, but what can also happen is process X needs process Y, but process Y was already shutdown. This is one of those things that systemd should fix, and does mostly, but sometimes we need a systemd service file to iron out kinks. Being unable to finish writing data, needing a resource, being a resource locked by something else that closed w/o releasing it... you name it and I've had it. Systemd sucks as an init system, and we can thank the RHEL boys for it, and we can blame the big distros for changing to it. Anyway, it's spilled milk coz systemd has unified most of Linux (there are plenty systemd-free distros are available, but most are not popular).
Anyway, you have three options here:
1. Find out what is causing the DB problem (ie why it's ignoring softkill) and address that. Could be writing data, could be a haywire mutex/lock, could be a recursive resource/process dependence leading to an unresolvable situation, or something completely different. Fixing it:
- Con: it ma be tough pinpoint.
- Pro: it ensures correct shutdown so said program does not lose data. Is more elegant.
2. Kill processes before shutdown. Either you could hardkill all errant processes manually before a shutdown or via a script. In the latter, for example's sake:
Code:
#! /bin/bash

# Kill processes
killall -9 <errant process A>
killall -9 <errant process B>
killall -9 <errant process C>

# Shutdown
poweroff
- Pro: simple and effective, you could save it as /usr/local/bin/my-shutdown and be done.
Con: You may have to run it as root/superuser depending on the processes' privileges. If you have to run it as root/superuser, you can, and likely will, break something. It's inelegant.
3. Create, or modify existing, .service file. On systemd systems, this is considered the de facto approach. I'm not too familiar with systemd because I've used init most of my Linux years and am still getting around to remembering it (if in front of me, I can edit a few things, but don't ask me to anything complex or write the file, lol). This is likely the best solution as it may well negate having to know specifics of what may be wrong as systemd acts as a whole and will kill processes in the most resolvable manner, avoiding most (it's not bullet proof) race conditions. I think for this option, maybe these two could help: @Alexzee since he's very up to date with more modern systems (yes, years later, systemd is still "new" for me), and @wizardfromoz since he runs about every distro you can name and then some.

In the meantime, you might search terms like:
systemd mariadb sql hanging, sql mariadb won't stop, can't poweroff sql mariadb, job for mariadb running. ...

Anyways, I really hope someone (here or the vast seas of the www) can help because my methods are hacky, old school, and potentially dangerous, lol. Good luck.

PS: They may take time to respond since this forum is busy, especially the mods who are mostly working one person per shift (sorry for tagging you in if you're swamped Chris).
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Alexzee

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2019
Messages
1,995
Reaction score
959
Credits
9,822
Excuse me,i ASK me where is for example the different between systems Like mageia & Neptune? mageia Looks like a gnu-interface and Neptune Like Debian,but i don't Unterstand the different between the distribution!
Mageia is a Red Hat based distro and it's Package Management system uses .rpm packages. Debian has it's own Package Management system and uses .deb packages which are nothing like Red Hat packages.

Desktop environment's vary in appearance and style's.

How To Fix MariaDB When It Get's Stuck


I've never installed Neptune Linux before.
Anyway it's based on Debian Stable Buster and ships with the KDE Plasma desktop.

What exact make and model is your netbook?
 
Last edited:
OP
endruschat100

endruschat100

Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2021
Messages
63
Reaction score
1
Credits
454
I'm Sure that this informations will BE usefull for me,thanks!
Here is my information about my device:
"Notebook Medion Akoya [MD99890](E7420)
B*D*H in mm-420*279*28
ca. 2,7kg(including battery)
Installed memory-4gb(DDR3L)
Harddisk-1000gb
Maximum Resolution-1600x900pixel
Display type-43,9cm(17,3")"
 

Alexzee

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2019
Messages
1,995
Reaction score
959
Credits
9,822
I'm Sure that this informations will BE usefull for me,thanks!
Here is my information about my device:
"Notebook Medion Akoya [MD99890](E7420)
B*D*H in mm-420*279*28
ca. 2,7kg(including battery)
Installed memory-4gb(DDR3L)
Harddisk-1000gb
Maximum Resolution-1600x900pixel
Display type-43,9cm(17,3")"

Looking at your specs of that machine you will need a lightweight Linux distribution.

Give Lubuntu, Kubuntu, Linux Lite, Q4OS, or Zorin OS Lite (which is available in 32 bit) a try.
Ubuntu Mate is also available in 32-bit.

Here's more Linus distro's to choose from.
 
Last edited:

Alexzee

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2019
Messages
1,995
Reaction score
959
Credits
9,822
OP's full specs:
Thanks for the link mate!

I used Google translate on the CPU section of the ad, however I wasn't able to find out if that laptop is 32-bit or 64-bit.

So after some digging around I found out it's a 64-bit machine here:

 
Last edited:

Fanboi

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2021
Messages
358
Reaction score
270
Credits
4,288
I used Google translate on the CPU section of the ad, however I wasn't able to find out if that laptop is 32-bit or 64-bit.
You can always just search the CPU model + manefacturer + "full specs". Takes you to AMD/intel page with chip specs (if you use DuckDuckGo at least, I dunno what Google & co. spits out, I'm guessing a ton of Ali Express and eBay links, lol)
 

Nik-Ken-Bah

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2019
Messages
684
Reaction score
626
Credits
2,294
I dunno what Google & co. spits out, I'm guessing a ton of Ali Express and eBay links, lol)
As an aside. More than likely as I use DuckDuckGo along with Brave browser when I want to get cleaner results, that is why I cackled when I read that. Been reading this thread to learn.
 
$100 Digital Ocean Credit
Get a free VM to test out Linux!


Latest posts

Top